Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

We’re now over half way through the year so I thought it would be a good time to reflect back on my reading year so far. I know I haven’t been blogging much but I m still very much reading!

Lets get on with it shall we?

Best Book You’ve Read So Far This Year

Vicious

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

I have to admit I haven’t read many novels this year focusing mostly on manga but of the few I have read Vicious is the best one so far. I have so many books on my TBR list so I’m not sure if this will stay as my favourite of the year. We’ll have to wait and see.

Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2015

City of Lost Souls

City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5) by Cassandra Clare

I know a lot of people don’t like this book as much as the others but I loved the ending of this book. it really made me want to read the last book in the series (which I did immediately after and loved it).

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet, But Want To

Mid Year Freak out 1.png

This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab 

A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic #2) by V.E. Schwab

On The Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher 

Can you tell I want to read more V.E. Schwab? I think this is turning into an appreciation post for her. This Savage Song sounds amazing and I read A Darker Shade of Magic last year but was disappointed with it but I want to carry on with the series none the less. I brought On The Other Side today so (fingers crossed) I’ll read it really soon. I read the synopsis and it has me really intrigued.

Most Anticipated Release For The Second Half Of The Year

Mid Year Freak out 2.png

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets: Illustrated Edition by J.K. Rowling and Jim Kay 

Haikyuu! Volume 1 by Haruichi Furudate

I have watched both season 1 & 2 of Haikyuu multiple times and love it with a passion so when I heard that they were translating the manga into English I had to pre-order it ASAP!

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, John Tiffany

Biggest Disappointment

memoirs of a geisha

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

I love the movie of this and it has been one of my favourites for years, this book has been on my TBR shelf for years. I finally picked it up this year but I found that I found it lacking compared to the film. I think because I love the film so much it has effected the way I view this book. I think I went in with too high expectations and they weren’t met.

Biggest Surprise

Death Note V1

Death Note: Black Edition, Vol. 1 by Tsugumi Ohba, Taskeshi Obata (Illustrator), Tetsuichiro Miyaki (Translator)

I am kind of including this with the anime because they’re basically the same thing. I found the anime on Netflix (of course) after hearing about it for years. If you’re into anime then you will know about Death Note but I never got around to watching it. I did and I won’t look back. This was so good!

Favourite New Author (Debut or New to You)

I can’t really answer this as I have no answer. The new authors I’ve read this year just haven’t struck a cord with me unlike last year when at this point I had three new favourite authors. Hopefully I’ll find someone by the end of the year.

Newest Fictional Crush

rin

Rin Okumura (Blue Exorcist) 

Kirito\Kazuto (Sword Art Online)

Simon Lewis (Mortal Instruments)

Newest Favourite Character

death_note2

Light Yagami & L (Death Note)

These two kind of go together for me. They have such a complex relationship\friendship that I love watching them together. I can’t really go into it because of spoilers but lets just say I lost some of my love for it when a certain ‘something’ happened.

Book That Made You Cry

Again I have no answer for this. Doing this tag is really making me see how much I miss out when I read mostly manga.

Book That Made You Happy

I have a whole load of books I could talk about here but I think I’ll go with my favourite.

Shaman King 1

Shaman King Volume 1 by Hiroyuki Takei

I had so much fun re-reading this, it brought back so many memories!

Favourite Book to Film Adaptation You Saw This Year

the-hunger-games-mockingjay-part-2-poster-jennifer-lawrence

The Hunger Games: MockingJay Part 2

Favourite Review You’ve Written This Year

*Whistles*

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought So Far This Year (Or Received)

pretty.png

This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

What Books Do You Need To Read By The End of the Year?

read.png

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Zen in the Art of Writing: Essays on Creativity by Ray Bradbury

I’m currently doing a lot of writing but I have only read one book on writing as of this month. I really want to read more about the art of writing and educate myself more.

Who do you tag?

I’m pretty late to this party so I think everyone has already done this in some way. if you haven’t however then I tag you 🙂

Well there we have it, if you stayed to the end of this then I applaud you and thank you. Hope you found this insight into my reading habits interesting and I’ll see you again soon.

Until Next Time,

Tori x

One thought on “Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

Leave a comment