August 2015 Wrap-Up

SAM_1570

It’s time again to talk about all of the books that I’ve read this month, I was going to wait to do this next week but I just finished putting this together and I’m pretty happy with it so it’s going up now.

I was pleasantly surprised to see how many books I have read this month. It always takes me by surprise how much I can read.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

I’m not going to go in to too much detail for this one because I have already dedicated a blog post to talking about it which you can find here.

Rat Queens #1 by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Roc Upchurch

Rat Queens was a nice and simple read that took me about half an hour to finish reading. I talked a little bit more about it in my BooktubeAThon Wrap-Up.

Rurouni Kenshin (3-in-1) #1 by Nobuhiro Watsuki (Translated by Kenichiro Yagi)

I read this because I had just watched the live-action film for the first time and I had the desire to re-read the series again. I enjoyed this just as much as I always have and if you are interested in reading manga but don’t know where to begin then this would be my first recommendation.

Fairy Tail Volume 1 by Hiro Mashima (Translated by William Flanagan)

I enjoyed reading this one and I might go back and re-read it before continuing with the series or I might start watching the anime again. As it is this was a funny read and another manga I can recommend.

Daughter of the Flames by Zoë Marriott

I have a full book review up for this book which can be found here.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

SAM_1566 (2)Again I am not going to go in to detail here as I have a blog post dedicated to talking about this book and the film which you can find here.

Rurouni Kenshin (3-in-1) #2 by Nobuhiro Watsuki (Translated by Kenichiro Yagi)

I decided to continue reading the series after finishing the first bind up, it didn’t take me as long to read this book for some reason, it only took me the better part of a day instead of two.

The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan

I brought all of the books in this series this month and once I had all of them I decided to start reading them. I have read this book before but I gave my copy away for some reason. It was nice to read this again and I loved it just as much if not more than I did before.

The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #2) by Rick Riordan

I just finished reading this and again I have read this book before but only the once. I think it was the thing with the guinea pigs that put me off this book last time (if you’ve read it you should know what I’m talking about) but I pushed past it this time and I’m so glad I did! I’m going to start reading this book as soon as I have finished writing some more blog posts. I might even have time to add it in to this list once I’ve finished.

Anime

This month I watched a few good anime’s so I thought I would share them with you (boy this is turning into a long post!)

Food Wars! Shokugeki no Soma

Food Wars!Yukihira Souma’s dream is to become a full-time chef in his father’s restaurant and surpass his father’s culinary skill. But just as Yukihira graduates from middle schools his father, Yukihira Jouichirou, closes down the restaurant to cook in Europe. Although downtrodden, Souma’s fighting spirit is rekindled by a challenge from Jouichirou which is to survive in an elite culinary school where only 10% of the students graduate. Can Souma survive? (via ryuanime.com)

I didn’t expect to like this but the food looks amazing and the story is surprisingly good! This is still ongoing and I’m a little behind but still very enjoyable.

Rokka -Braves of the Six Flowers-

BravesLegend says, when the Evil God awakens from the deepest of darkness, the god of fate will summon Six Braves and grant them with the power to save the world. Adlet, who claims to be the strongest on the face of this earth, is chosen as one of the “Brave Six Flowers,” and sets out on a battle to prevent the resurrection of the Evil God. However, it turns out that there are Seven Braves who gathered at the promised land… (Via Crunchyroll)

I found this two days ago and I’ve already caught up with the episodes. The animation is gorgeous and the story is compelling, it very much a fantasy with some mystery elements thrown in there. I’ve already gone back to start watching it again. This is an ongoing anime and currently there are seven episodes released.

The Heroic Legend of Arslan (2015)

The Heroic Legend of ArslanIn the prosperous kingdom of Pars lies the Royal Capital of Ecbatana, a city of splendor and wonder, ruled by the undefeated and fearsome King Andragoras. Arslan is the young and curious prince of Pars who, despite his best efforts, doesn’t seem to have what it takes to be a proper king like his father. At the age of 14, Arslan goes to his first battle and loses everything as the blood-soaked mist of war gives way to scorching flames, bringing him to face the demise of his once glorious kingdom. However, it is Arslan’s destiny to be a ruler, and despite the trials that face him, he must now embark on a journey to reclaim his fallen kingdom. (Via ryuanime.com)

This anime is finished. I’m hoping that they’ll be a second season because I loved it. It focuses on a lot of war and battles but the characters are what kept me watching. This is quite political and bloody so if that isn’t your type of thing I can’t really recommend this one.

Stats

I’m going to do something a little different this month and include some stats on my reading and writing.

Books Read: 9 books

Dates I finished Reading:

  • Prisoner of Azkaban – Sunday 2nd August 2015
  • Rat Queens #1 – Monday 3rd August 2015
  • Rurouni Kenshin (3-in-1) #1 – Tuesday 4th August 2015
  • Fairy Tail Volume 1 – Thursday 6th August 2015
  • Daughter of the Flames – Saturday 8th August 2015
  • Goblet of Fire – Tuesday 11th August 2015
  • Rurouni Kenshin (3-in-1) #2 – Sunday 16th August 2015
  • The Lightning Thief – Thursday 20th August 2015
  • Sea of Monsters – Saturday 22nd August 2015

Pages Read: 3,496

Longest Book Read: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Blog Stats (at time of writing this)

Posts Published (this month) – 17

Links –

Well I think I’ve pretty much covered everything I wanted to. I hope you liked this new and improved version of my Wrap-Up. Are any of these things on your list this month? Tell me in the comments 🙂

Until next time,

Tori x

5 thoughts on “August 2015 Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: Anime I’ve Watched (So Far) | Bookish Writings

    • Yeah I’ve got loads to read a review too. I still don’t know if I’m going to review the Percy Jackson books or not. I’m trying to read both Percy and Harry at the same time and it is a huge struggle, I think I’m going to put one of them down and just focus on one. I’m on the last HP book so I might just read that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

