Thoughts: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Script Book

Okay so we all know that I am a huge Harry Potter fan (who isn’t?) but I’m not too sure about this new script book that J.K Rowling is releasing following the opening of the play in London.

I love the fact that we can know the story of the play even if we can’t see it, regardless of what country we live in. I think it is great that we can read it even though it isn’t an actual novel but I would have preferred it if it had been in novel form.

I have read plays before while I was in university and even before that when I was in high school but I’ve never really been able to enjoy myself while reading them. I find it incredibly hard to immerse myself in the story when there are stage directions and such interfering. That is probably one of the reasons I’ve never been able to finish reading a Shakespeare play before. It takes me a long time to understand what is happening and what I should be visualising in my head.

I will most likely end up buying the script book anyway but I’m going to try and get tickets to see it in person (I doubt it’ll actually happen though, I think they sold out a long, long time ago).

All of that said I am internally and externally fangirling so hard over the fact that we are getting so much Harry Potter related content this year. We’ve got the play\script, Fantastic Beasts, the new Pottermore, Harry Potter colouring books and Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Illustrated Edition not forgetting the new Funko Pop figurines (Sirius Black you will be in my hands soon!)

What are your opinions on the script book? Are you happy? Would you have preferred it as a new novel instead of a script? What are you most looking forward to? I think I’m most excited for the film truth be told. It looks amazing!

Until next time,

Tori x

Leave a Reply

