January Wrap-Up and Haul

SAM_1903

So last month I wasn’t posting on here very much and for that I’m sorry. I lost the urge to write anything so I didn’t. I’m back here though and trying to get back into the groove of things.

All of that said I have had a good month reading wise, managing to read seven books. Most of these are manga and comics but I did read two full books this month and I am well into my third.

Wrap-Up

Jan Wrap Up.png

I only read from the fifth book this month because I have been slowly working my way through the series. If you go back and look at some of my other wrap-ups then you’ll see a few of these there too. I am waiting for the last book in the series to come in the post at the moment so I will soon finish re-reading the series. I have only read the online fan translation of this manga before this so it is nice to read an official translation.

SAM_1917 (2)

At the start of last year I read the first two books in the Mortal Instruments series but I didn’t continue reading until December. I wanted to read all of the books before the TV series started but obviously that didn’t happen. I was a little annoyed with myself about that so I decided that I would read them all now. I’m so glad I decided to read them. I had only ever read up to City of Fallen Angels and I loved City of Lost Souls! I’m hoping that the last book will be just as good.

The search

Last year I read the first collection in this comic series (The Promise Parts 1, 2 & 3) and really liked them so when I had some Christmas money I decided to splurge on this beauty.

Book Haul

I went a little mad on the book buying this month and if I’m honest I can’t see that stopping next month. There are quite a few books I want to get to complete reading a series (Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices). I’m being good though and not buying them until I’ve actually read up to the books I’ve already got.

SAM_1896 (2)

Jan Haul.png

At work we have a charity bookcase where you put your unwanted books so that other people can come along and buy them for 50p that goes to charity. Well one day last week I was sitting at the checkout and I looked over and saw that someone had left a copy of The Host in hard cover. Now I love reading The Host and I have read it multiple times, so many times in fact that the book is darn near falling apart (I’ve got a paperback). I’ve been after a hard cover version of it for so long! So when I saw it on the shelf I immediately jumped off my counter and grabbed it for myself. I was chuffed 😉

Jan Haul p2

I had no idea that City of Heavenly Fire was so huge! I was going to wait for a while before reading this but once I saw it I knew that if I don’t read it now then the size of it will scare me off and I’ll never read it. Needless to say that is what I’m currently reading.

This is the last book in the Rurouni Kenshin manga series and I am eagerly anticipating it in the post sometime this week. Re-reading these books has reminded me why I loved it in the first place. It has been so long since I read the end of the series there are a few things that I have forgotten about and it is nice to go back and rediscover them years later.

Well there it is, all of the books I have read and brought in the month of January. I look forward to reading your posts on your reading this month. Hopefully I’ll be able to finish reading City of Heavenly Fire during February and move on to The Infernal Devices but we’ll see.

Until next time,

Tori x

 

Leave a Reply

