Top Ten Tuesday #16 – FREEBIE Vampire and Gothic Literature

TTT

Halloween really isn’t my sort of thing. I hate being scared, scary stories, films, pictures anything scary and I’ll hate it. I tend to ignore Halloween as much a possible.

With that in mind when I saw what we could do for this weeks topic I was a little concerned that I wouldn’t have anything to talk about, however I looked at my bookshelf and I saw quite a lot of gothic literature and vampire novels\series. I thought I would use this FREEBIE post to talk about those ones that I have read and those that I want to read.

As always TTT is created and hosted by the Broke and Bookish, so head on over there if you’re interested in joining or knowing what TTT is. You should also check out their other posts too!

dracula and guest

Dracula by Bram Stoker

Lets start off with an obvious one. Every one knows Dracula even if they haven’t read it. I have read about half of this, I picked it up a few years ago and then again last year (year before?) for university. Both times I didn’t finish but I do want to read it eventually.

Dracula’s Guest and Other Weird Tales by Bram Stoker

As a companion to Dracula I decided to include this. This is a collection of short stories that Bram Stoker wrote but didn’t publish his wife collected these together after his death and published them. When I found this on Goodreads I was intrigued so I decided to download it to read after I’ve finally read Dracula.

26102015 2

The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

I read this at the beginning of the year and loved it. It is a short book so if you want to get in to reading more classics this is a short and interesting one for you to read.

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

I read this last year and loved it. Granted it took me a long time to get in to the story but once it had caught my interest it has me hooked.

Carmilla by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

This is actually a short story I read for university. I really liked this one. I had very low expectations for this story and was pleasantly surprised with it. I think I liked the discussions this book created in our class more than the book but if you’re interested in reading different takes on vampires then I would recommend trying this one out. It is not very long but it got me thinking.

Vampire Book Series

Morganville Vampires

The Morganville Vampires by Rachel Caine

This is a very long YA vampire series. I started reading this when I was in High School and I still haven’t finished. I am on … probably book ten and I still need to read\buy the last few books in the series.

I love this series but it can get a little long winded and a tad repetitive, I mainly love reading this for the characters not the overall plot (though I am interested to see how the series will end …

Ugh ... cover changes

House of Night by PC Cast and Kristin Cast

Again another series I haven’t finished. I was obsessed with this during my Twilight faze. This was my rebound series. I own most of the books but stopped buying them when I caught up with the series at the time. Since I last read the books the series has been completed.

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Twilight Saga

Well if we’re talking vampires then the ‘sparkly’ vampires need to be mentioned at least once. I loved this series and I have plans to go and re-read it soon. I recently finished reading Life and Death and really enjoyed it so I am going to give it some time before trying to re-read the actual series.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy

I have a running trend of not completing these book series. I am working on this one though. I have read the first two books and own another two of them which I need to read. I love the characters in this and the plot is unique to what I’ve read before. I can’t wait to finish this series … when I get around to it

vampire knightVampire Knight by Matsuri Hino

This is a manga series that I’ve read and actually completed. I hated the ending to this manga however and I will never read it to the end ever again. That being said I love the first half of the series and I can recommend that.

I was a little leery of putting this on my list because I don’t have a clear opinion on it but I decided to go with it anyway. What is a list of mine if it doesn’t have manga on here?


That is all I have for you this week. I hope you all scare yourselves silly on Halloween and for those like me that hate anything scary I hope you stay safe under your covers 😉

As always leave a comment, like and send me a link to your TTT I always love reading them.

Until next time,

Tori x

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #16 – FREEBIE Vampire and Gothic Literature

  1. Pingback: October 2015 Wrap-Up | Bookish Writings

Leave a Reply

