Book Review: Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

Girl onlinePenny has a secret.

Under the alias GirlOnline, she blogs about school dramas, boys, her mad, whirlwind family – and the panic attacks she’s suffered from lately. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets the gorgeous, guitar-strumming Noah. Suddenly Penny is falling in love – and capturing every moment of it on her blog.

But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover – and her closest friendship – forever. (Via Goodreads)

So this book actually took me by surprise.

I’ve been eyeing this book in stores and online since it was first released. I’ve been following Zoella on Youtube for just under two years now and I love watching her vlogs and her updates on her writing progress. Now that her second book has come out I decided it was about time that I read the first in the series.

This was a very cute story, it took me by surprise how good the writing is in this and the writing style too. It definitely¬†reads as a debut novel by a new writer\author who doesn’t have much experience in the way of story telling but it in no way took away from the story itself.

I loved how she incorporated what she knows in to this story, if you follow her on Youtube you’ll be able to see bits and pieces in the story that she has taken from her own life and her own experiences. One thing that particularly stands out to me is the way she includes an important theme\topic in this book. She talks a lot about panic attacks and how to handle them. I think this could be a really important book for teens who are going through the same sort of things, it includes methods on how to calm down, how to share with the people around you ext.

on tourNow moving on to talking about the characters. Penny (the main character) is the most fleshed out character of them all, which is to be expected considering she is telling the story and we see through her eyes. When it comes to the other characters though I think they needed more detail. We get a general idea of their personalities but nothing to make you really fall in love with them.

Noah (the love interest) was a confusing character for me. I really wanted to love him but we just don’t see enough of him, we don’t learn enough about him and he falls a little flat. I so want to love him and I can see the potential in his character for a really swoon worthy guy but he just isn’t there yet. Hopefully that is something that changes in Girl Online: On Tour.

When it comes to the actual plot, there is nothing spectacular there. If you’ve ever seen a typical teen romance film then this is basically that. Boy meets Girl (Girl meets Boy), fall in love, get separated (I’m not going to say what happens next because spoilers) but you get the idea.

Insta-love.

Oh how I hate you.

It’s there for sure. It seems as if they fall in ‘love’ extreamly fast. She sees him and has the typical teenage girl reaction. His response to her doesn’t convince me as much though. She is fifteen almost sixteen and he is eighteen. I think he doesn’t act quite as mature as he should but as I’ve said before we don’t see enough of his personality to really judge how he should be acting.

Overall I liked it. It was a cute, fast read that is good to read if you want something light and fluffy but with some small curve balls in there. I’m not going to call it a plot twist because it really didn’t feel like one.

I think Zoe has a lot of potential to write great stories but I just don’t think she’s quite there yet in this book. (I make it sound as if I’m an expert, I’m not.)

I will be reading Girl Online: On Tour soon, if not straight away. There was something about the story that makes me want to read more of it…

I gave this a 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Until next time,

Tori x

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #17 – Debut Authors to Further Explore | Bookish Writings

  2. Pingback: October 2015 Wrap-Up | Bookish Writings

  3. Pingback: October Book Haul | Bookish Writings

  4. Pingback: This Week in Books #7 | Bookish Writings

Leave a Reply

