Harry Potter Studios Tour London 2015

So last week my family and I travelled down to London to go and see the studio tour for my 21st birthday. My birthday was actually the first week of August but we didn’t want to go then because of it being the six week holiday (summer holiday) for the school kids and it would have been rammed full of teens and kids.

I have been to the studio tour before for my 18th birthday but at the time the Hogwarts Express wasn’t there. When we went I took hundreds of pictures but after we left and were sitting in the car my dad looked at the camera for the pictures and we realised that it hadn’t saved any, the memory card was faulty. I left with only the bad quality pictures on my IPod.

So we really went for those reasons, I wanted to see the train and I wanted some pictures. Of course I also wanted to go in to the gift shop at the end too 😉

I am going to share with you some pictures I took while I was there, I will also talk a little about what is in each picture just in case you don’t know or you can’t remember.

SAM_1612

This was one of my favourite pictures I took last time I went, so of course I retook it. This is a picture of one of the ‘ice’ sculptures that are featured in The Goblet of Fire (I think). It was used for the Yule Ball scene. I’m not entirely sure so if I’m wrong please correct me.

SAM_1616

Looking at the clothes and make-up section of course the first thing I see are Sirius Black’s tattoo’s! I love Sirius Black and I was so excited when I saw these. I’d love to get something Sirius Black related tattooed somewhere.

SAM_1621

There was so much going on here that I was excited about. I have close up pictures of them but I don’t want to bombard you with small things so I’ll just talk about them. There is a Dark Arts Defence: A Guide for Beginners Book in the background, I think that was the book that Umbridge used in the fifth film. There was also the Marauders Map, Lupin and on the wall to the side there were the projector slides Snape uses in the third film. I managed to get a picture of the werewolf slide!

SAM_1635

Hello Dumbledore’s office. I’m so happy that I actually managed to get a clear shot of the inside. Last time there were too many people to get a decent picture. I wanted to get a good look at the telescope in the background. I know that it is the most expensive prop that they made but we only ever see it in background shots in the film. I would love to see inside it. But this is as close as you could get unfortunately.

SAM_1676

Not the most exciting picture but I don’t want to show you the train. It was such an amazing sight that it’s best if you go and see it for the first time without pictures. I know we’ve all seen it on screen but nothing prepares you for seeing it in person. It was probably one of my favourite things there.

SAM_1702

I wish my copy of Fantastic Beasts was this pretty. This was in pride of place, probably a subtle reminder that the film is in the works.

SAM_1711

I love this picture so I had to include it. This is me standing in front of the Knight Bus. This is the halfway point in the tour. Privet Drive is just to the side of me. I actually tried some Butterbeer for the first time while here and it was actually quite nice. I don’t think I could drink a full cup to myself but it was good. I would probably prefer the ice cream but it was a little cold to be eating ice cream…

SAM_1738

Voldemort, Voldemort, ohhhhh Voldy, Voldy, Voldy, Voldemort 😉

SAM_1788

No matter how many times I may see this it will always take my breath away. It is a truly amazing sight. I took so many photos of this from so many different angles. There is so much to see!

SAM_1809

SAM_1817

SAM_1604

I’m going to finish this off with one of my favourite J.K. Rowling quotes. “No story lives unless someone wants to listen.”

Well that’s all I have for you, I don’t want to ruin anything for you if you’re planning to go and see all of this for yourself (you should) I don’t think I will be going back here unless they add something new again. I think the next time I get to go to anything resembling this will be in America but that won’t be for a long time. It’s expensive!

I think the next time I get to really Harry Potter fangirl (hopefully) will be when Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them gets released in cinemas.

If you’re curious as to what I brought in the gift shop: I brought a Slytherin jumper (zip up hoodie) and my Mom brought me a Sirius Black picture frame, which is now on my bookcase and some Slytherin bookmarks.

I hope you enjoyed this post and looking at my pictures,

Until next time,

Tori x

Leave a Reply

