Daily Writing #1

SAM_1584 (2)

So I’ve been wanting to improve my writing for a long time and I have been doing so even if my blog writing isn’t as good as it could be. My grammar is something to be desired and my spelling is atrocious! I make it no secret that I have the desire to be a full time writer but to do that I need to practise my writing.

No matter how many books I read or how many classes I take they all say the same thing. I need to write every day. When you read what I’ve written it is easy to see my thought process for this blog post.

Anyway my point is that I want to try writing every day and to encourage me and give me motivation I am going to be posting what I write here on my blog. I encourage people to join in!

This is going to be a very loose promise but I hope I can stick to doing this every day. I need to get my arse in gear.

Without further ado here is my typed up version of the writing I did today.


I’m sitting here poised my pen poised over the blank lined paper ready to write something. I’m not expecting it to be spectacular or even half-way decent. It doesn’t have to be prose or poem. Paragraph or sentence.

I just want it to be the first thing that I write.

I’m not even thinking about anything. It feels as if the pen is moving with its own mind.

I lie. I am thinking. I’m thinking of my blog post to go with this.

Is my handwriting neat? No.

Do I care? No.

Will I take a picture to go with this? Maybe.

Will I do this everyday?

I hope so. I really do want to improve my writing and no matter how many courses & classes I take they all say the same thing.

Write something, it doesn’t matter what or how much, write something every day.

This feels and looks like a lot to me but I know this will only be a few lines on the computer but it doesn’t matter.

What will my title be?

I have my window open, I can hear the rain pattering against the pond outside. Should I take a nice picture of that?

My legs were feeling stiff so I took Charlie for a walk. He enjoyed it. It cleared my head like only fresh air can do.

Half the time I can’t even read my own handwriting. My sister thinks it’s messy but it doesn’t really bother me.

I keep talking about my writing.

I think I’ll leave it there for now, my hand is hurting & I’m running out of paper.

My spelling sucks!!

Tori x


As you can see there are mistakes and it doesn’t make much sense but the point is that I wrote something today even if it doesn’t have a narrative or a plot.

If you don’t know, this is a technique called free-form writing. You write what first comes to your mind without thinking. That is why this is choppy and sporadic. I didn’t like this type of writing before but it really freed me from thinking. I didn’t have to think out a plot or a starting line, I put my pen to paper and wrote the first thing I thought about. My thought process changed a few times too. I think I have a new appreciation for this form of writing but I will still try and find challenges\prompts\tasks to do too.

Now this probably won’t be like this every day. Some times I write a blog post like I did today (I’m adding this in on the 31st, I wrote this post on the 30th) If I have posted a blog post already that day then I will count that as my writing for the day. I will only do posts like this if I haven’t done any form of writing that day. (Did that make sense?)

If you do something similar to this please tell me about it and leave a link I’m always interested in other peoples writing.

Until next time,

Tori x

4 thoughts on “Daily Writing #1

  1. I love this 🙂 and you know why? Because it’s inspiring 🙂 at the moment in class we’re writing reflective journals every day. Our tutor tells us because it’s a form of releasing everything you have learnt from that day onto paper and just letting the words flow through your hands 🙂 And it’s quite hard for me because I hate to write but I’m learning ! But good luck on your writing. Just by reading what you’ve written, you’re pretty good at this free-form writing ! One more thing, you’re writing is fine 🙂 it’ll improve xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a really good thing to do. I have done it many times, never been consistent though, I have even done it in some of my boring lectures. 😛 Free-form writing is like killing two birds with a stone- it clears or mind and improves your writing. Hope I make sense. 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi Tori,
    I sympathize, I’m in the same boat. Grammar and me just don’t get along 😦
    It’s definitely better to write something everyday than nothing.
    But the thing with me is that when I sit down to write I have so many other distractions to entertain me…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah same. I normally write on my laptop so I have the internet to distract me, I think I’m going to start doing it in my notebook so that I can dedicate my time to it. Normally I do it just before going to bed so I’m not thinking about it as I go to sleep.

      Like

Leave a Reply

