Anime I’ve Watched (So Far)

I said previously in my Manga Recommendations post that I would make a post talking about all of the anime I have watched. So here it is. I’m only going to talk about the anime I have watched and finished excluding those I have watched but not finished.

I recently got back in to watching anime because of my older brother. He is currently obsessed with it and he keeps recommending new anime to me and of course I go and watch them (most of the time). I might do some updates on my anime lists as I watch them and I might include some upcoming anime I’m looking forward to in my posts.

Attack On Titan

Attack on Titan PosterSeveral hundred years ago, humans were nearly exterminated by titans. Titans are typically several stories tall, seem to have no intelligence, devour human beings and, worst of all, seem to do it for the pleasure rather than as a food source. A small percentage of humanity survived by walling themselves in a city protected by extremely high walls, even taller than the biggest of titans. Flash forward to the present and the city has not seen a titan in over 100 years… (Via Ryuanime)

I watched this at the end of 2013 and I loved it! It is one of the best anime I’ve ever watched. I can’t recommend this to people who don’t like action and blood as this is a very bloody anime and not suited for younger watchers. There is only one season out for this anime at the moment but there should be a new season some time next year. This anime has some of the best animation I have ever seen in an anime to date.

The manga is still ongoing and I am not up to date on it but it is a very good manga and I should really get back to reading it.

Cardcaptors (Cardcaptor Sakura)

I mainly watch this for a blast to the past. I loved watching this when I was little and I still love it. I have to be in just the right mood as this is a very sweet story and obviously very simple as it is aimed at young girls.

Code Geass

code_geass_lelouch_of_the_rebellionThe Empire of Britannia has invaded Japan using giant robot weapons called Knightmare Frames. Japan is now referred to as Area 11, and its people the 11’s. A Britannian who was living in Japan at the time, Lelouch, vowed to his Japanese friend Suzaku that he’d destroy Britannia. Years later, Lelouch is in high school, but regularly skips out of school to go play chess and gamble on himself. One day, he stumbles on terrorists 11’s who’ve stolen a military secret and is caught by a member of the Britannian task force sent after them, who is Suzaku. As the rest of the squad arrives, Suzaku is shot for disobeying orders, while the military secret, a young girl, gives Lelouch the power of Geass, which makes anyone obey any order. While Suzaku is secretly made the pilot of Britannia’s brand new prototype Knightmare, Lancelot, Lelouch becomes the masked Zero to lead the rebellion to destroy Britannia once and for all. (Via watchcartoononline)

This is another new venture for me, my brother introduced me to this one a few months ago and after the first episode I was hooked! Normally I don’t like mecha anime but I made an exception for this one.

The main character is so logical and smart it makes you love him for his cocky behaviour. I wish they had a better story line for some of the characters as I wasn’t satisfied with how their stories ended. There are some amazing cliff hangers in this anime and if for nothing else I would recommend it for those. I was literally shouting at my laptop screen “WHAT?!”

DragonBall Z

DBZ_keyThe Saiyans are coming!  The last survivors of a cruel, warrior race, these ruthless villains have carved a path of destruction across the galaxy, and now they have set their sights on Earth!  They will stop at nothing until they have the wish-granting powers of the seven magic Dragon Balls for their very own.
With the fate of his family, friends, and the entire human race hanging in the balance, Goku, the Earth’s greatest hero, must rise to meet the approaching threat.  As he prepares for the fight of his life, Goku embarks on an epic journey that will take him to other worlds, pit him against new and old enemies alike, and force him to confront the dark secrets of his own past.  At the end of his path, the most powerful opponent he has ever faced awaits — the evil Saiyan Prince Vegeta! (Via Funimation)

When I was little my brother and sister would watch this on Cartoon Network and I can honestly say I had no interest in it. I wish I had because it would have been nice to watch it on television. As it is I only got in to reading and watching this in the past few years.

In fact I only recently watched it all the way through because there are so many of them! I haven’t watched the new series, Dragonball Super yet because I am going to wait until it has been dubbed in English.

You can’t help but loving this, it is old now but there have been numerous remasters of it. I just love Goku, Vegeta and Gohan!

Free! Iwatobi Swim Club

freeNanase Haruka loved to be in the water – loved swimming. In elementary school, Nanase Haruka, Tachibana Makoto, Matsuoka Rin, and Hazuki Nagisa attended the same swimming class together. But, after winning their last tournament together before graduating from elementary school, they went their separate ways.

Time passed, and as Haruka was living an uneventful high school life, he suddenly encountered Rin again. Rin challenged Haruka to a race and showed him how much stronger he had become. Haruka couldn’t let it end that way… (Via CrunchyRoll)

I love this anime, I’m not even sure why. This was the anime that got me back in to watching anime and subbed anime in particular. I loved waiting until the end of the week so I could I watch the new episode.

The story is again simple and sweet but there is a lot of teenage angst in here but it just makes you love it more. This was the first sports anime I watched and I have a new appreciation for it.

Free! Eternal Summer

*Sob* The second and last season of Free! I have only watched this once I should probably go and watch it again…

This was a great second season and if you liked watching the first one then you will be obsessed with this one. We have a few new characters introduced in to the story and they each bring something new to the show.

FullMetal Alchemist Brotherhood

I only watched this last year and as soon as I watched the first few episodes I was hooked! It is one of the best anime I have ever watched and I wouldn’t mind buying the DVD’s of this. I haven’t read the manga of this yet as I want to collect the books for it instead of reading them online.

Haikyu!!

Haikyuu_PosterA chance event triggered Shouyou Hinata’s love for volleyball. His club had no members, but somehow persevered and finally made it into its very first and final regular match of middle school, where it was steamrolled by Tobio Kageyama, a superstar player known as “King of the Court.” Vowing revenge, Hinata applied to the Karasuno High School volleyball club… only to come face-to-face with his hated rival, Kageyama! (Via Ryuanime)

Another sports anime but this time focusing on volleyball. It was surprisingly good and I literally couldn’t stop watching! I can’t wait until the next season comes out but the manga has to reach a certain point before they can continue on.

The manga is just as good and fast paced. It doesn’t get boring and I now think I know more about volleyball then I ever have before.

Kyo Kara Maoh

This is a cute little fantasy anime that I watched probably about two years ago now. The story isn’t spectacular and the animation style isn’t to die for but it is still a good anime to watch if you want something a little more light hearted but still including an engaging plot and decent amounts of action and humour.

Again I haven’t read all of the manga for this, purely for the reason that it is almost exactly like the anime and I normally go to read a manga after watching the anime so it was repetitive.

Love Stage!!

This is a yaoi anime\manga (boy love) and I loved it! It was the first yaoi anime I watched and again I can’t wait until the next season but this is another case where the manga has to reach a certain point before any more anime can be made.

Noragami

noragamiYato is a minor deity who lacks even a single shrine. In order to build his own shrine, he scrawls his cell number on the wall of a downtown bathroom telling people he will help them in exchange for a 5-yen offering, becoming a self-styled “delivery god.” Hiyori, the daughter of a respectable family, is almost in a traffic accident, but is rescued by Yato. This causes her to become a “hanyou,” a person who can easily lose her soul. She chases Yato down, and they begin to work together. Yato also finds a boy named Yukine who becomes a “sacred treasure” that can be used by a god. The three of them battle “you” who bring harm to humans as Yato’s hidden history is gradually revealed. (Via Ryuanime)

Noragami is really good but for some reason I have only watched this once, last year. Again it has to wait for the manga before they can continue. There is something about this anime that doesn’t sit right with me. I can watch it and have but I don’t find myself wanting to go and watch it again. I need to try watching it again and see if I find the same thing happening again.

I still recommend this anime as it is again really good and the animation is amazing!

Ouran High School Host Club

This is a very short anime but if you liked the manga then you will like this but it won’t be as satisfying. This only covers the first few volumes of the manga and then decides to go in its own direction with the story.

I doubt that they will ever continue this but there is always that tiny slither of hope. This is another good anime to watch when you can’t think of what to do with yourself and you want something to make you laugh.

No.6

This was a good anime but again nothing spectacular. I mainly like this one for the story and the animation. The story is a lot more detailed and mature than some other animes I have watched and I really enjoyed the futuristic aspect they incorporated in to this anime.

If you want to get back in to watching anime after a break then this is the anime I would recommend to you.

Shaman King

shaman kingYoh is a young shaman, one who can see and communicate with spirits. Shaman’s also have another power,the ability to unify with spirits and use the spirit’s fighting skills. Yoh is training to become the Shaman King, strongest among all Shamans, a title won by winning the Grand Tournament that takes place every 500 years. Helping him are his best friend Morty, a short kid who can also see ghosts, Amidamaru, an old samurai and his spirit partner, and his fiance Ana, a spirit meduim and his trainer. However, another Shaman family is trying to keep Yoh out of the tournament. Along the way he meets a bunch of other misfit ghosts and wannabe Shamans. (Via Watchcartoononline)

One of my favourite anime of all time. This is one of those anime that stays with you. The animation is very 2000’s but don’t let that put you off. This anime contains some of my favourite characters from an anime\manga and I love going back to re-watch it. It is impossible to find the DVD’s for this series as it is not popular enough for them to make them but I have been collecting the manga. I’m not sure why I haven’t got all of them yet.

The Heroic Legend of Arslan

I only watched this this month but I loved it! If you like war, fighting, strategy, monarchy and fights to the death then this will be an anime that you will like. From what I know this is a remake of an old popular anime and from what pictures I’ve seen of the old one the new one is a lot better made.

I’m currently at the point where I might consider going to re-watch this.

This only has one season so far but I’m pretty sure they are going to continue on as there are a lot of loose ends at the end of the anime.

Vampire Knight

If you like vampires and romance then this is the anime for you. I actually prefer the anime to the manga now because I hated how the manga finished and this anime stops at just the right point that I can still enjoy it.

Honourable Mentions

Technically neither of these are anime but I wanted to mention them anyway because I love them both so much!

Avatar the Last Airbender Books 1, 2 & 3

AvatarA century prior to the series’ opening, when Aang was 12 years old, he was frozen into a state of suspended animation for 100 years. After being awoken by two children from the Southern Water Tribe, he finds the world at war with the Fire Nation. As the Avatar, he sets out to master the elements and ultimately defeat the Fire Lord and end the war. (Via Watchcartoononline)

I love this series and I have re-watched it a countless amount of times. It never stops being funny and entertaining. If you have never watched it the you are seriously missing out and you need to go and watch it ASAP!

The Legend of Korra

I can’t put a synopsis on this one because if you haven’t watched the Last Airbender then it contains spoilers (Major spoilers!) But this is just as good as the Last Airbender and I can’t recommend both of these series more 🙂


As of right now those are all of the anime I can think of, there are more I have watched that I haven’t finished yet, either because I got bored half-way through or it just hasn’t finished yet. Those that aren’t finished yet that I am watching can be found in my August Wrap-Up.

There are probably more that I have watched that I can’t think of right now and I’m bashing myself on the head. Alas there is nothing I can do about it now…

Have you watched any of these? Do you want to? Let me know 🙂

Until next time,

Tori x

5 thoughts on “Anime I’ve Watched (So Far)

  1. Great choices! I’ve recently watched the live action movie of Attack of Titan and I rotally loved it now I’m eagerly waiting for the part 2. Have you watched Wolf’s Rain, Flame Of Recca, Samurai X, Yu Yu Hakusho you must check them out too. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

