Friday Favourites & Fanfiction #2

Favourites

Anime:
The Heroic Legend of Arslan

The Heroic Legend of ArslanIn the prosperous kingdom of Pars lies the Royal Capital of Ecbatana, a city of splendor and wonder, ruled by the undefeated and fearsome King Andragoras. Arslan is the young and curious prince of Pars who, despite his best efforts, doesn’t seem to have what it takes to be a proper king like his father. At the age of 14, Arslan goes to his first battle and loses everything as the blood-soaked mist of war gives way to scorching flames, bringing him to face the demise of his once glorious kingdom. However, it is Arslan’s destiny to be a ruler, and despite the trials that face him, he must now embark on a journey to reclaim his fallen kingdom.

So so good. I wasn’t expecting to like this so much but it really draws you in. You have to get through the first couple of episodes before it gets its claws in you but once it does you can’t stop watching. This is very much about wars, assassination, kings, Queens and Princes. I watched it in English Subbed but there are a few episodes out that have been English Dubbed but I always recommend watching anime in sub.

Books:

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Percy #1Look, I didn’t want to be a half-blood. I never asked to be the son of a greek god.
I was just a normal kid, going to school, playing basketball, skateboarding. The usual. Until I accidentally vaporized my maths teacher. Now I spend my time battling monsters and generally trying to stay alive.
This is the one where Zeus, God of the Sky, thinks I’ve stolen his lightning bolt – and making Zeus angry is a very bad idea. (via Goodreads)

I brought all of the books over the course of this month (whoops spoiler for my book haul) so I have started reading them this week. So far I have finished reading the first book and have just started the second. You can keep up to track with my reading progress on my goodreads page if you’re interested.

I’ve been enjoying them so far but I have read the first book quite a few times before so I already knew what would happen (I borrowed it off my friend last year) but I haven’t read the others so it will be nice to marathon the rest of the series.

Fanfiction

If Slash (gay) fanfiction doesn’t interest you then this next section won’t interest you. Just a heads up 🙂

I think re-reading the Harry Potter books that has resulted in me reading more Drarry (Draco\Harry) fanfictions this week. It has been years since I’ve read any and it seems as if I have finally got my fangirl back in gear.

Harry Potter

The One Where Ron and Hermione Find Out by EruditeWitch (fanfiction.net)

Category: Romance\Angst
Rating: Mature
Chapters: OneShot
Status: Complete
Summary: When Harry is injured, the secret is out. Will their relationship last such a startling revelation? Harry/Draco

This was the first one I read this week and I instantly wanted to read more. Basically Harry is injured while on an Aurour mission with Ron and he asks for Draco before he passes out. Draco goes to the hospital to see him and the rest happens from there.

After Eden by Rickey (Archive of Our Own)

Category: Hurt\Comfort, Romance, Injury, Disability, Angst and Humour
Rating: Explicit
Chapters: 2
Status: Complete
Summary: Life threatening injuries are an occupational hazard even for a seasoned Auror, but Harry Potter never considered the possibility of life altering injury. And why is it that Draco Malfoy has to be the one to help him?

I loved this fanfiction. When Harry injures his wand hand during a fight he has to learn how to use it again so he can go back to work. In comes Draco Malfoy. He helps Harry on the road to recovery. I loved seeing the trust between them grow and evolve in to something more. It is a sweet story and a nice easy read.

The Snitch-Maker by Omi_Ohmy (Archive of Our Own)

Category: Mystery, Romance, Disability, Quidditch, Post-Hogwarts
Rating: Teen and Up
Chapters: Oneshot
Status: Complete
Career Choices: Harry: QUABBLE official (Quidditch representative); Draco: Snitch-maker
Summary: Draco is content with his Snitches, with the tap tap tap of his hammer, and the tiny gears and sharp scent of metal in his workshop – until one day Harry Potter appears, asking for help to solve a rash of Snitch-tampering in the Quidditch world.

I love love loved this fanfiction. I think this is a new favourite. Seriously if you like Drarry and you haven’t read this then you need to get on it ASAP.


Can you tell that I’ve been enjoying my disability fanfictions this week? I don’t know what it is about them that makes me want to read them but hey ho.

I hope you enjoyed this weeks favourites and fanfiction Friday and I hope to do another one next week but again no promises, it’s surprisingly hard to find things to talk about sometimes.

So until next time,

Tori x

One thought on “Friday Favourites & Fanfiction #2

  1. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Bookish Writings

Leave a Reply

