Harry Potter Revisited #5 – The Order of the Phoenix

Book

Order of the Phoenix

I’m back to reading my old editions of the books now

I’m going to be completely honest and admit that I haven’t actually finished reading this one and I don’t really plan to. I find that when reading this book I skip more of it than read it and at some points I have to put it down because I feel as if I am bashing my head on the front cover (I have a hardback edition) because of this I don’t have much to say about the book. If you can’t already tell this is one of my least favourite of the books, second only to one.

I love Sirius Black as you well know but I don’t think his character was the best portrayed in this book, I can understand why he is the way he is: moody, sullen, reckless ext but it just makes it so much harder to read about him when I know he can be so much better than that. Don’t even get me started on the end of the book. I will be forever in denial.

Again I’m really sorry but I don’t have anything to say. I’m a little disappointed in myself but I’m not going to force myself to read a book I have no interest in finishing at this moment in time. I’ll probably go back in a few weeks or months and give it another try.

Film

I have a few good things to mention about the film but not as many as I do bad. It is really eye opening when you’re doing a series of blog posts about these films it really makes you notice just how much there is in them that you don’t like. I do however love the music in this film, it really gives that extra effect when Umbridge is walking through the halls. It is a perky tune but overly sweet, it fits her character to a tee.

Something that I noticed was Dumbledore. He isn’t anything like the Dumbledore I imagine in the books. I understand that Michael Gambon wanted to give his own interpretation\twist on Dumbledore but he takes the character and completly turns him on his head. I imagine him to be calm and all knowing not harsh and unforgiving. I have a lot of issues with this portrayal of Dumbledore.

One character I adore in this film is Luna Lovegood. She is exactly how I imagine her in the books but with longer hair (not that I’m complaining). She is such a carefree and loveable character you can’t help but love her. She really brings a sense of peace in the dark tones of the film.

I’m coming to realise I have a lot of issues with how the characters are portrayed in the films this one in particular. I hate how out of character Harry can seem sometimes. Ron is really shoved in to the background in this film, I could probably count how many lines he has on one hand, this film brings the beginning of the comedic relief in the form of Ron being a compulsive eater (which I never understood).

Ugh.

Harry and Cho.

Do I need to say more? I don’t like their relationship in the books let alone in the movie. They kiss in a very awkward scene with Ginny hovering in the background towards the beginning to make it seem as if she is jealous. But after the kiss I don’t think we see Cho again bar a few small scenes where they are walking together in a corridor for a few seconds. They never explain what happens with that relationship that I remember off the top of my head.

And again we leave off with a little stab at Emma Watson’s acting. I love Emma Watson I really do but she seemed really stiff in this film I can’t put my finger on it but she just bugged me a little.


Well I think that is all I have for you this week, I’m sorry if this post seemed a little lack-lustre but I really couldn’t think of anything to write about the book, I much expect next week to be the same considering it is my least favourite of the series by far.

I will try and read it but I can’t make any promises as I am currently trying to read the Percy Jackson series for the first time.

Until next time,

Tori x

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter Revisited #5 – The Order of the Phoenix

  1. Oh, the romance in the HP movies. I’d rather laugh than be angry or else it would never end. A lot of people don’t like this book because of the angst, and I get it but, I don’t know, I love Harry’s anger, I even love that Umbridge is a such an easy character to hate (I personally call her Dumb-Bitch), but I do prefer the book. I guess it probably doesn’t help that Sirius is your favourite character, but I love how they filmed the scene, all muted, and Daniel Radcliffe was amazing in that moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Bookish Writings

Leave a Reply

