Top Ten Tuesday #7 – Auto-buy Authors

TTT

As always if you’re interested in Top Ten Tuesday go and check out The Broke and Bookish. Each week they give us a topic to make a list of our top ten and this week happens to be ‘Top Ten Of Your Auto-buy Authors’.

I have to admit that I only have two auto-buy authors at the moment so this is going to be a very short list for that I apologize.

I wouldn’t be surprised if she was on the majority of lists this week.

J.K. Rowling has the best writing I have ever read and I very much doubt that that is going to change any time soon. I have all of her books except for Very Good Lives, The Silk Worm and of course her newest book, Career of Evil which is due to hit UK Stores on 20th October 2015.

I plan on getting them as soon as I finish reading the Cuckoo’s Calling.

The Cuckoo's CallingDetective Cormoran Strike investigates a supermodel’s suicide. After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his long time girlfriend and is living in his office.
Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story: His sister, the legendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man. (Via Goodreads)

She is on my auto-buy author list but I don’t actually own all of her books. Don’t get me wrong I have the majority of them but there are a few of her series that I haven’t finished.

I think I like her so much because she created some of my favourite characters and she has recently decided to carry on with that universe in a series of new books. When I heard that I freaked out big time. Of course I went out and brought the book (Shadow Study) and read it. If I’m being honest I have to admit that I was a little disappointed in it, I didn’t think it lived up to the other books in the series. That is not however going to stop me from buying the next book, Night Study, when it comes out in January 2016.

Poison StudyYelena has a choice – be executed for murder, or become food taster to the Commander of Ixia. She leaps at the chance for survival, but her relief may be short-lived.

Life in the palace is full of hazards and secrets. Wily and smart, Yelena must learn to identify poisons before they kill her, recognise whom she can trust and how to spy on those she can’t. And who is the mysterious Southern sorceress who can reach into her head?

When Yelena realises she has extraordinary powers of her own, she faces a whole new problem, for using magic in Ixia is punishable by death… (Via Goodreads)

Again I apologise that this list is so short but it obviously takes a lot for me to auto-buy an author. I have to really enjoy their books and want to read more of their writing. I have had a few auto-buy authors in the past who have let me down or I just lost interest. One such example being PC and Kristin Cast and also Rachel Caine. I have no plans to buy any more of PC and Kristin Cast’s House of Night Series at the moment (it could change with time) but I do plan to try Kristin Cast’s own book Amber Smoke.

The same thing goes for Rachel Caine, I plan to continue reading her Morganville Vampires series soon and I also wouldn’t mind reading her newest book, Ink and Bone.

Ink and BoneRuthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly—but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden.

Jess Brightwell believes in the value of the Library, but the majority of his knowledge comes from illegal books obtained by his family, who are involved in the thriving black market. Jess has been sent to be his family’s spy, but his loyalties are tested in the final months of his training to enter the Library’s service.

When he inadvertently commits heresy by creating a device that could change the world, Jess discovers that those who control the Great Library believe that knowledge is more valuable than any human life—and soon both heretics and books will burn.… (Via Goodreads)

I hope you enjoyed this weeks TTT and I hope to see you again next week, please feel free to leave a comment with a link to your TTT and I’ll take a look.

Until next time,

Tori x

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #7 – Auto-buy Authors

  1. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Bookish Writings

Leave a Reply

