Manga Recommendations

SAM_1504Seeing as I am constantly talking about manga on this blog I decided to dedicate a whole blog post to it.
I have been reading manga for about ten years now and I still enjoy it just as much as I did when I first began reading it. I am constantly finding new manga and anime to watch in fact I just started watching Food Wars! on Crunchyroll.

DragonBall by Akira Toriyama

DragonBall Vol 1Meet a naive young monkey-tailed boy named Goku, whose quiet life changes when he meets a girl named Bulma who is on a quest to collect seven “Dragon Balls.” If she gathers them all, an incredibly powerful dragon will appear and grant her one wish. But the precious orbs are scattered all over the world, and Bulma needs Goku’s help (and his super-strength)! So begins the adventure of a lifetime… (via Goodreads)

It was DragonBall that began my love for manga. My brother began collecting the manga for it and when he was at work I would go and read them without him knowing (he found out eventually) and I fell in love with the story.

DragonBall Z by Akira Toriyama

Dragonball Z Vol 1It wasn’t DragonBall that I started collecting first, it was DragonBall Z the sequel\continuation of the story. I’m pretty sure everyone has heard of Dragonball at least once.

In my opinion this is one of the best series to start off with, the story is simple and easy to follow, there is a lot of action and the characters are loveable in their own ways. This series isn’t for everyone but I recommend trying it at least once.

Rurouni Kenshin by Nobuhiro Watsuki (Translated by Kenichiro Yagi)

Rurouni Kenshin Vol 2A hundred and fifty years ago in Kyoto, amid the flames of revolution, there arose a warrior, an assassin of such ferocious power he was given the title Hitokiri: Manslayer. With his bloodstained blade, Hitokiri Battosai helped close the turbulent Bakumatsu period and end the reign of the shoguns, slashing open the way toward the progressive Meiji Era.  Then he vanished, and with the flow of years became legend. 

In the 11th year of Meiji, in the middle of Tokyo, the tale begins. Himura Kenshin, a humble rurouni, or wandering swordsman, comes to the aid of Kamiya Kaoru, a young woman struggling to defend her father’s school of swordsmanship against attacks by the infamous Hitokiri Battosai. But neither Kenshin nor Battosai are quite what they seem… (via Goodreads)

This was one of the first manga I ever read. I remember spending all of Christmas day one year sitting on the floor and reading the first 3-in-1 book and loving it. I still haven’t finished collecting all of the books yet but I think I have about three more books to get. I have finished reading the series however online.

Because this was one of the first manga I read I can safely recommend this to people who have not read manga before. This too has a anime but I’ve only ever been able to watch the first few episodes. The anime really doesn’t agree with me for some reason. I am currently in the process of watching the live-action films though and I am obsessed! They’re so good!

Shaman King by Hiroyuki Takei

Shaman King 1When he takes a shortcut through a cemetery, Manta Oyamada meets a strange kid with headphones — surrounded by ghosts. The kid is the teenage shaman Yoh Asakura. Tapping the supernatural swordfighting powers of samurai ghost Admidamaru, Yoh fights Bokuto no Ryu, a sword-wielding gang member. But an even more dangerous opponent is stalking Yoh and Manta — a Chinese shaman who wants to possess Amidamaru. (via Goodreads)

My favourite anime of all time. Seriously I think this is one of the most underrated manga and anime. I started this off by watching it on the television and loving it, I didn’t get to finish watching it though because it wasn’t popular enough for them to keep playing it.

I’ve read all of the manga and watched all of the anime now, granted I’ve only read the manga all the way through once but it is one of my favourites. Again another one that is good for people who have never read manga before. The story is sweet but with action, romance, friendship and a generally good plot. I can’t recommend this manga more.

Attack on Titan (Shingeki no Kyojin) by Hajime Isayama (Translated by Sheldon Drzka)

Attack on TitanIn this post-apocalytpic sci-fi story, humanity has been devastated by the bizarre, giant humanoids known as the Titans. Little is known about where they came from or why they are bent on consuming mankind. Seemingly unintelligent, they have roamed the world for years, killing everyone they see. For the past century, what’s left of man has hidden in a giant, three-walled city. People believe their 100-meter-high walls will protect them from the Titans, but the sudden appearance of an immense Titan is about to change everything. (Via Goodreads)

I was introduced to this series by watching the anime in 2013 and loving it! I had to know what happened next and if anything was different in the manga. The art style isn’t the best when you first start reading it but as with all manga the manga artist gets more comfortable and begins drawing better.

This is quite gory and not for the faint of heart but it isn’t horrifically graphic. It is violent but the story makes this one of the best manga I have read to date. I can’t say that this is the best manga to start off with if you’ve never read any manga before but you should for sure consider reading it.

This is still an ongoing manga and currently there is only one season of the anime with another season rumoured to be coming out sometime next year. I recommend watching the anime before reading the manga to see if you like the story and the amount of blood.

Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori

Ouran High School Host Club Vol 7One day, Haruhi, a scholarship student at exclusive Ouran High School, breaks an $80,000 vase that belongs to the ‘Host Club’, a mysterious campus group consisting of six super-rich (and gorgeous) guys. To pay back the damages, she is forced to work for the club, and it’s there that she discovers just how wealthy the boys are and how different they are from everybody else. (via Goodreads)

This is a very girly read, I know I shouldn’t really say that but it’s true. It is a very light-hearted and funny story with strange but loveable characters. More than once this has made me laugh out loud. If you want a funny story and a light fluffy read then this is the one I recommend.

It isn’t all fun and games however the story does get a lot more detailed and compelling. I’d try and read a few volumes before writing this one off. Again this has a anime, it doesn’t follow the overall story of the manga but it covers most of the first few volumes well.

FullMetal Alchemist by  Hiromu Arakawa (Translated by Akira Watanabe)

FullMetalAlchemy: the mystical power to alter the natural world, somewhere between magic, art and science. When two brothers, Edward and Alphonse Elric, dabbled in these powers to grant their dearest wish, one of them lost an arm and leg…and the other became nothing but a soul locked into a body of living iron. Now they are agents of the government, slaves of the military-alchemical complex, using their unique powers to obey their orders…even to kill. But their powers aren’t unique. The world crawls with evil alchemists. And in pursuit of the ultimate alchemical treasure, the Philosopher’s Stone, their enemies are even more ruthless than they are… (via Goodreads)

This is a relatively new venture for me, I haven’t finished reading this one yet because I want to collect the books instead of reading them online. I have however seen all of FullMetal Alchemist Brotherhood and loved it. If you don’t take anything from this list other than going to watch Brotherhood then I can go away satisfied. If you haven’t watched it then you are seriously missing out. A brilliant anime\manga to start with.

Cardcaptor Sakura by CLAMP

Cardcaptor SakuraFourth grader Sakura Kinomoto finds a strange book in her father’s library — a book made by the wizard Clow to store dangerous spirits sealed within a set of magical cards. But when Sakura opens it up, there is nothing left inside but Kero-chan, the book’s cute little guardian beast . . . who informs Sakura that since the Clow cards seem to have escaped while he was asleep, it’s now her job to capture them! (via Goodreads)

This is more of a middle grade manga series aimed at young girls. It is a very sweet story with an adorable main character. I mainly read this one because I used to watch it on television when I was little. Because this is aimed at young girls it makes it easy to read and it is quite short too.


Well those are my recommendations for first time Manga readers, hopefully on of these has piqued your interest. I can’t recommend them more!

SAM_1510I plan to do a post about all of the manga I have ever read eventually and not just the ones mentioned here in this list. Trust me I’ve read a lot more than this. I am also considering doing a post about anime and possibly recommendations for that too, I’ll see if I can include some trailers in there for you too.

I used my own picture for this post for the first time and it just reminded me how bad I am at photography even though I did a course on it in college.

Until next time,

Tori x

2 thoughts on “Manga Recommendations

  1. Pingback: Anime I’ve Watched (So Far) | Bookish Writings

  2. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Bookish Writings

Leave a Reply

