Harry Potter Revisited #4 – The Goblet of Fire

Book

Goblet of FireAdmittedly it took me a lot longer to read this book than it did the others. Partly because I was busy reading other books for the BooktubeAThon but also because I always find this book hard to get though.

I enjoy this book, I really do but it isn’t one of my favourites. I have my favourite parts of course for example the three tasks and reading about Dobby and Sirius. There are a lot of parts to this book that are just boring so I zone out and eventually I end up skipping a chapter. I did skip a few chapters in this book in particular the Pensieve chapter.

I think one of the main reasons I skip so much is that I already know the information it takes chapters to explain. Again looking at the Pensieve chapter, I already know Bartie Crouch Jr’s story and the brief look at Ludo Bagman.
I always forget how big a role Sirius plays in this book. He really acts like the father figure to Harry and it warms my heart every time I read them interacting with each other. I think it was this book that made me fall in love with Sirius’ character. When I was first reading this I had already seen the film and knew that Sirius was mentioned but I had no idea how much he was involved. He basically has his own chapter! Needless to say ‘Padfoot Returns’ is one of my favourite chapters in the book.

Even though I spent all day yesterday reading this so I could get this post up on time, I don’t have much else to say. I’m a little disappointed in myself for that but we have more books to come.

Film

I feel repetitive saying this but this is one of my favourite films of the series. I love the general atmostphere of the film, the rain, the music the night time shots. It really sets the tone for the rest of the films to come.

Surprisingly I have more good things to say about this film than bad.

Lets start things off by talking about Professor McGonagall. She is genuinely worried about Harry and she shows it all the time. She is there giving Harry a gentle pat on the shoulder to encourage him and comfort him. She tries to get Dumbledore to withdraw him from the tournament and hates the fact that there is nothing more she can do.

You have to admire Brendan Gleeson as Alistor ‘Mad-Eye’ Moody. The fact that he plays such a complex character so well is amazing. Essentially he is playing two characters at once, Moody and Crouch Jr. Comparing his acting in this film to later on you can tell the difference. In this film he gives him a sense of insanity, just look at the DADA scene at the beginning of the film.

Okay this is going to be the last thing before I mention the things that do annoy me in this film. I love Neville Longbottom! He really starts coming in to his own in this film. We can see a marked improvement on his confidence especially at the Yule Ball. Neville your dancing skills are on point.

Harry and Cho. Oh boy oh boy. Talk about awkward and painful to watch. I can’t stand watching their scenes. I admit that I have to skip over them sometimes in particular the scene at the owlery when Harry asks her to go to the ball with him. I realise that it is meant to be like that but it doesn’t make it any easier to watch.

Last thing I want to mention is Emma Watson. Girl what are your eyebrows doing? They seem to be constantly in motion and this is a really nit-picky thing to annoy me but I can’t look away from them. Go and watch the scene on the Hogwarts express and you won’t see anything else either after having it pointed out to you.

I think that is everything I can come up with at the moment, I was going to mention something about Ralph Fiennes but I think that can wait until we see more of him in the other films.

Until next Wednesday (hopefully I’ll have finished the book by then),

Tori x

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter Revisited #4 – The Goblet of Fire

  1. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Bookish Writings

  2. I think the movies handled the romances very badly in general. Yes, it’s supposed to be a bit awkward, but not as much as the films portray (don’t even get me started on the Harry/Ginny scenes in the next movies). And YES ! THE EYEBROW THING ! I can’t quote any of Hermione’s lines without moving my eyebrows excessively and I think it’s all because of Emma Watson.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was going to mention the Harry\Ginny thing but thought it is better left for one of the films that they get together. I was such a fangirl for them after reading the books and then the film came out and I instantly disliked their relationship. It’s so painful to watch!

      Like

Leave a Reply

