BookTubeAThon 2015 Wrap-Up

This was my first time participating in a readathon of any kind so it took me a little while to get used to it. I started off slow by reading a graphic novel that I wanted to read. I finished this within a half hour to an hour so it was a nice quick read to get me started.

  • Rat Queens by Kurtis J. Wiebe, Illustrated by Roc Upchurch

All of the snyopsis’ are curtesey of Goodreads

Rat QueensWho are the Rat Queens? A pack of booze-guzzling, death-dealing battle maidens-for-hire, and they’re in the business of killing all gods’ creatures for profit.

It’s also a darkly comedic fantasy series starring Hannah the Rockabilly Elven Mage, Violet the Hipster Dwarven Fighter, Dee the Atheist Human Cleric and Betty the Hippy Hobbit Thief. This modern spin on an old school genre is a violent monster-killing epic that is like Buffy meets Tank Girl in a Lord of the Rings world on crack!

I went in to this not really expecting much but I actually really enjoyed it. The story was a little disjointed at times but the characters are what kept me reading. It seems like it has a lot of promise and I might just try carrying on with this series.

I then went on to read a manga, this one was a lot longer than Rat Queens so it took me longer to read it.

Rurouni Kenshin 1A hundred and fifty years ago in Kyoto, amid the flames of revolution, there arose a warrior, an assassin of such ferocious power he was given the title Hitokiri: Manslayer. With his bloodstained blade, Hitokiri Battosai helped close the turbulent Bakumatsu period and end the reign of the shoguns, slashing open the way toward the progressive Meiji Era. Then he vanished, and with the flow of years became legend.

In the 11th year of Meiji, in the middle of Tokyo, the tale begins. Himura Kenshin, a humble rurouni, or wandering swordsman, comes to the aid of Kamiya Kaoru, a young woman struggling to defend her father’s school of swordsmanship against attacks by the infamous Hitokiri Battosai. But neither Kenshin nor Battosai are quite what they seem…

I’ve read this manga series before and after watching the live-action film it brought on the urge to re-read the manga. This was the manga I read that first got me in to reading manga and watching anime and it is always nice to go back and re-visit my favourite characters. If you are interested in historical fiction and want to start reading manga then this is the series I would recommend starting with.

It took me longer to finish reading this book so it took me until Tuesday to finish but once I did finish it I decided that it was probably a good time to start reading a proper full length book.

Daughter of the FlamesInside an ancient temple in the mountains, fi fteen-year-old Zira trains in the martial arts to become a warrior priestess who can defend the faith of the Ruan people. Bearing a scar on her face from the fire that killed her parents, the orphaned Zira is taught to distrust the occupying Sedornes. Terror strikes when the forces of the tyrannical Sedorne king destroy the only home she knows. To survive, Zira must unravel the secrets of her identity, decide her people’s fate — and accept her growing feelings for a man who should be her enemy.

The synopsis is a little misleading on the romance front, I’m not going to get in to it here but if you’ve read the book I think you’ll understand what I mean. In relation to the romance in this book there is a little bit of insta-love but it isn’t done in the obvious\typical way. There are circumstances that lead to them starting a relationship which starts the main plot of the story and the love interest is one of my favourite characters. I might do a review for this book because I seem to rambling on and I’m having to stop myself from giving a full review here. But just be aware that there is a little insta-love in this book.

I didn’t finish this one right away, about half-way through reading it I could feel a reading slump coming on so I put it down for a few hours and started reading another manga that I had been meaning to start.

Fairy TaleCute girl wizard Lucy wants to join the Fairy Tail, a club for the most powerful wizards. But instead, her ambitions land her in the clutches of a gang of unsavory pirates led by a devious magician. Her only hope is Natsu, a strange boy she happens to meet on her travels. Natsuâ’s not your typical hero, he gets motion sickness, eats like a pig, and his best friend is a talking cat. With friends like this, is Lucy better off with her enemies?

Again I really enjoyed this book. I didn’t enjoy it as much as I wanted to because it was basically exactly the same as the anime so I already knew what was going to happen but it was a funny read and it managed to help me divert a reading slump. After finishing this I went back and finished reading Daughter of the Flames.

I didn’t manage to finish reading this this week but I did manage to read a good chunk of the book, you can find all of my stats below.

Stats

Books Read: 4

Dates I finished reading:Goblet of Fire

  • Rat Queens – 3rd August 2015
  • Rurouni Kenshin – 4th August 2015 (Took most of Monday and Tuesday to read)
  • Fairy Tail – 6th August 2015
  • Daughter of the Flames – 8th August 2015

Pages Read: 1,526
Longest book finished: Rurouni Kenshin
Reading Challenges Achieved:

  • Read Someone else’s favourite book (Daughter of the Flames)
  • Read the last book you acquired (Fairy Tail)
  • Finish a book without letting go of it (Rat Queens)
  • Read a book with blue on the cover (All four of them have blue on the cover)

Overall I’m really happy with how much I read this week, it is a lot more than I normally read in a week book wise. I’m a little disappointed that I didn’t get around to reading Memoirs of a Geisha but I can do that any time I want to. I hope you all did well in the BookTubeAThon if you participated and,

Until next time,

Tori x

3 thoughts on “BookTubeAThon 2015 Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Bookish Writings

Leave a Reply

