July and Birthday Book Haul

At the end of July my sister and I took a trip to Cardiff City Centre for a few days of retail therapy. While I was there I brought a few books from WHSmith. I was a little annoyed that they didn’t have the books that I went there for (Crown of Midnight and The Wrath and the Dawn) but I picked up some books that have been on my wishlist for quite a while so it wasn’t a huge loss. At the beginning of this month (2nd) it was my 21st birthday. I was surprised to receive quite a few books as gifts seeing as I wasn’t expecting any so now I have a pile of books to show you.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to make this post because I don’t know if people really do book hauls on here but I said to hell with it and decided to do it anyway. I’m excited about these books so I want to share them with you.

July\Cardiff Buys

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Daughter of Smoke and BoneIn general, Karou has managed to keep her two lives in balance. On the one hand, she’s a seventeen-year-old art student in Prague; on the other, errand-girl to a monstrous creature who is the closest thing she has to family. Raised half in our world, half in ‘Elsewhere’, she has never understood Brimstone’s dark work – buying teeth from hunters and murderers – nor how she came into his keeping. She is a secret even to herself, plagued by the sensation that she isn’t whole.
Now the doors to Elsewhere are closing, and Karou must choose between the safety of her human life and the dangers of a war-ravaged world that may hold the answers she has always sought.

I’ve heard a lot of people talking about this book and when I saw it on the shelf I picked it up and decided to buy it if I couldn’t find anything else that I wanted. Obviously I brought it.

Assassins Apprentice by Robin Hobb

Assassins ApprenticeYoung Fitz is the bastard son of the noble Prince Chivalry, raised in the shadow of the royal court by his father’s gruff stableman. He is treated like an outcast by all the royalty except the devious King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored in the arts of the assassin. For in Fitz’s blood runs the magic Skill–and the darker knowledge of a child raised with the stable hounds and rejected by his family. As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood. Soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-shattering mission. And though some regard him as a threat to the throne, he may just be the key to the survival of the kingdom.

Novels and Nonsense on Youtube is constantly raving about Robin Hobb and her writing so when I saw this on the shelf I knew I had to get it. I’ve been searching for this book in book shops for months but I’ve never been able to find it. I was so happy when I saw this I knew that I was going to buy it.

Birthday Books

My Aunt & Uncle brought me a pile of books off my wishlist for my birthday (thank you), so all of these books are books that I wanted but never brought for myself.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

Percy #1Look, I didn’t want to be a half-blood. I never asked to be the son of a greek god.

I was just a normal kid, going to school, playing basketball, skateboarding. The usual. Until I accidentally vaporized my maths teacher. Now I spend my time battling monsters and generally trying to stay alive.

This is the one where Zeus, God of the Sky, thinks I’ve stolen his lightning bolt – and making Zeus angry is a very bad idea.

I’ve read this book before but gave it away to charity for some reason. I quite liked this book when I read it and I wanted to try and actually finish the series. I’ve only ever read up to the second book in the series.

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Camp Half-Blood is under attack and, unless I can get my hands of the Golden Fleece, the whole camp will be invaded by monsters. Big ones…

I can’t really put a synopsis on this one because of spoilers but this is the second book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series.

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Red RisingThe Earth is dying.

Darrow is a Red, a miner in the interior of Mars. His mission is to extract enough precious elements to one day tame the surface of the planet and allow humans to live on it.

The Reds are humanity’s last hope.

Or so it appears, until the day Darrow discovers it’s all a lie.

Again another book I wanted because of a youtuber\booktuber. This time it was Tashapolis raving about how good looking Pierce Brown is and how good the books are. Recently I read The Martian by Andy Weir (review) and really enjoyed it, it has instilled a desire to read more sci-fi books. This sounds a lot like Inside Out by Maria V. Snyder so I’m hoping it isn’t so similar that I can’t read it.

Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

The song of AchillesGreece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. Despite their differences, Achilles befriends the shamed prince, and as they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something deeper – despite the displeasure of Achilles’s mother Thetis, a cruel sea goddess.

But when word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, Achilles must go to war in distant Troy and fulfill his destiny.

Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus goes with him, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they hold dear.  

This sounds like a really interesting book, I’ve not really got anything else to say but that I want to read this soon because it really does sound like an interesting premise.

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow and BoneThe Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite – the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free?

I don’t know much about this one, I have heard people talking about it before but I can’t really remember what they said about it. It will be interesting to go into this book blind. I haven’t done it in a while so it should be fun.

The next two books my brother and his fiancée brought for me, they also got me an ‘adult’ colouring book which I can’t find on the internet anywhere.

Fairy Tail Volume 1 by Hiro Mashima (Translated by William Flanagan)

Fairy TaleCute girl wizard Lucy wants to join the Fairy Tail, a club for the most powerful wizards. But instead, her ambitions land her in the clutches of a gang of unsavory pirates led by a devious magician. Her only hope is Natsu, a strange boy she happens to meet on her travels. Natsuâ’s not your typical hero, he gets motion sickness, eats like a pig, and his best friend is a talking cat. With friends like this, is Lucy better off with her enemies?

I recently started watching the anime of this on Netflix, I haven’t got very far yet because I’m watching The Vampire Diaries most of the time but what I have watched I enjoyed. I have just finished reading this and as far as I can tell the anime is very similar to the manga.

Fairy Tail Volume 2 by Hiro Mashima (Translated by William Flanagan)

Again I can’t really put a synopsis on this one because of spoilers but I shall be reading this soon and possibly buying the next book in the series soon after.

Other Purchases

Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

Queen of the TearlingKelsea Glynn is the sole heir to the throne of Tearling but has been raised in secret by foster parents after her mother – Queen Elyssa, as vain as she was stupid – was murdered for ruining her kingdom. For 18 years, the Tearling has been ruled by Kelsea’s uncle in the role of Regent however he is but the debauched puppet of the Red Queen, the sorceress-tyrant of neighbouring realm of Mortmesme. On Kelsea’s 19th birthday, the tattered remnants of her mother’s guard – each pledged to defend the queen to the death – arrive to bring this most un-regal young woman out of hiding…

I saw this book in my local Tesco for £3.67. I’ve been meaning to get this book ever since I heard that Emma Watson was going to be in the film adaptation. I plan to read this book before the film comes out (whenever that is). I really shouldn’t have brought this book but here it is.


Well those are all of the books that I got for my birthday this year, if my Aunt, Uncle and brother are reading this then thank you again for the books.

I hope you liked this and I hope to have another post up soon about the BooktubeAThon that I am participating in, thank you for reading,

Until next time,

Tori x

One thought on “July and Birthday Book Haul

  1. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Bookish Writings

Leave a Reply

