Harry Potter Revisited #3 The Prisoner of Azkaban

HP #3Harry Potter, along with his best friends, Ron and Hermione, is about to start his third year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry can’t wait to get back to school after the summer holidays. (Who wouldn’t if they lived with the horrible Dursleys?) But when Harry gets to Hogwarts, the atmosphere is tense. There’s an escaped mass murderer on the loose, and the sinister prison guards of Azkaban have been called in to guard the school…

Reading this again reminded me of why this is one of my favourite books in the series. I fell in love with Sirius Black and Remus Lupin all over again and I regret nothing!

I don’t really have anything bad to say about this book I do however have plenty of good things to say below you can find a list:

  1. Sirius Black
  2. Remus Lupin
  3. Harry Potter
  4. Sirius Black
  5. Sirius Black
  6. Marauders Map
  7. Marauders
  8. Sirius Black

I think you get the idea.

Needless to say Sirius Black is my favourite character and reading about him again just gave my love for him a new breath of life. I don’t know why but I always seem to forget just how much Sirius actually talks in this book. I think it’s because I’ve seen the film more recently and more often and it makes me think that he isn’t in it as much as he actually is. I hate the films for that but we’ll get to that later.

This book has a much darker tone to it than the other books what with the Dementors, Werewolves and prisons.HP #3 UK

I love being able to go and find out more about the books from J.K. Rowling through interviews and Pottermore. It always interests me how she can take something like depression and the stigma surrounding H.I.V and translate them so well onto the magical creatures that she creates (Dementors and Werewolves respectively).

We also get a lot of information about the Marauders in this book which is always a good thing. More information about James Potter, Remus Lupin and Sirius Black is always welcome. It always makes me a little (a lot) sad thinking about the Marauders and how all their stories end. It is really very bitter sweet.

For some reason I got a new appreciation for Remus Lupin in this book. I loved him already but I think that by reading the book in this way (needing to read it for a blog post) I was reading a lot deeper than I normally would and looking for things to talk about, I managed to see Remus a lot better than I ever have before.

I think it is a mixture of the things above, the tone of the book, the characters and the writing which makes me love this book so much and no matter how many times I go back and read it it is always just as good as the time before.

Film:

I love this film, it is one of my favourite of the series just like the book but there are a few things that annoy me about the film. So forgive me if this makes it sound like I don’t like the film but it is a lot easier talking about things that irritate me than things that I really like.

This film seems to have had a bigger budget for props and special effects, the attention to detail is a lot more extensive than in the previous films. The scenery was on point and the Whomping Willow was really realistic. One thing I really liked was the way that they showed the passage of time\the changing seasons through the state of the tree, some of those scenes however could have been shorter, it got boring and seemed like a waste of time sometimes.

Finally the acting is better! They seem a lot more relaxed in this film, it doesn’t sound as if they are trying to remember their lines any more. There are a few times when they sound a little stiff but it is a huge improvement from the other films. I never really looked at their acting ability before doing these posts but there is a marked improvement. I think I ignored their stiffness because I love this film so much and I didn’t want to ruin it by looking too deep.

Another thing that really annoys me is the start of the writers giving Hermione all of Ron’s lines. If he says anything remotely smart they give it to Hermione to say to make her seem even more knowledgeable. To me this is the start of Ron being shunned to the back of the group and treated as a third wheel and comic relief. Ron is such a great character and it seems to me as if the directors or writers of the films downplay that a lot and focus more on Harry and Hermione. Ron is one of my favourite characters and I hate how he is treated. It isn’t so bad in this film but to me this is the start of that trend.

I think I watched this film long before I started reading the books so it has never really bothered me that they aged the Marauders up. Now that I have read the books I can see why it irritates people but the actors they chose for the characters were really good and I don’t think I will ever be able to stand anyone else playing those characters. I love Gary Oldman as Sirius Black! He is such a good actor and he really brought Sirius to life. I didn’t really like how insane he comes across at first but those scenes between Harry and Sirius at the end are some of my favourites. You can already see the connection between the two of them.

I think I have spoken enough about the films now but here are a few other things I jotted down as I was watching the film:

  • Random Gryffindor always popping up with ominous speeches about death omens and Sirius Black being insane. He always makes me laugh, if you haven’t seen the Tumblr post about him then you really need to read it, it’s hilarious.
  • Grim in clouds – what is the point harry wasn’t ever seeing a grim he was seeing Sirius.
  • Lily screaming – I mistook it for a train whistle for years! They could at least try and make it sound like a scream.

I hope you enjoyed reading my thoughts on the third book and film, I am doing my best to read the next Harry Potter book. I really hope I can finish reading it before next Wednesday in time for the post. Thanks for reading and,

Until next time,

Tori x

P.S If you’re interested in following my progress for the BookTubeAThon you can follow me on Goodreads and Twitter.

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter Revisited #3 The Prisoner of Azkaban

  1. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Bookish Writings

  2. This is my favourite book and my favourite movie as well (you can be critical of something you love, in fact, you should totally be critical of something you love !) and it’s definitely because of the details about the Marauders. What I always hated about the movie though, was all the fade-to-black transitions. And yeah, I’ll never understand why they down-played Ron’s role and impact like they did (seriously – siriously ? – what was the point ?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know I don’t get it either! Another thing that really confused me was the scene just before Professor Trelawney makes her prophesy where Sirius’s face appears in the crystal ball for Harry. That doesn’t make any sense! There was no need for it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

