Top Ten Tuesday #5 Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and Bookish go and take a look if you’re interested in participating.

This week we’re listing ten fairytale retellings that we’ve read or want to read. This is an interesting topic and I’ve never really thought of doing a list for this before. I had an idea the other day for a fairytale retelling that I might try writing soon but it needs more planning but I digress on with the list.

1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

2. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

CinderHumans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

These are the only two fairytale retellings I’ve ever read. It shocked me when I realised this but it was fairly recent that I discovered fairytale retellings. I did enjoy these so I need to try and find some more to read. The rest of the books on this list are books that I want to read or I have just found and thought sounded interesting.

3. The Beast by Lindsay Mead

The BeastDemon possession has swept through Glace’s neighboring kingdom, turning humans into hellhounds. These great, fanged wolves are wild, desperate, and hungry. Only the sworn Hunters have kept them back for five long, bloody years.
At the young age of fifteen, Belle LeClair became a Hunter. She no longer remembers how many hounds she’s killed, or how many friends she’s buried. Still, Belle leads the hunt till a tragedy forces her deep into the dark kingdom. Her heart will be turned, her loyalty tested— and fate will intervene.

Admittedly I just saw the cover on Goodreads and I was intrigued. This seems to have a lot of mixed reviews but from what I can tell this is a Steampunk Beauty and the Beast retelling.

4. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.
But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?
Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

This has been on my wishlist for a long time but again I’ve heard a lot of mixed things about this book. It does sound interesting though so I’ll probably pick this book up eventually. Plus from what I’ve seen this is not a very long book.

5. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

The Wrath and the DawnEvery dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

I believe that this is a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. While I was in Cardiff last week I was actually on the prowl looking for this in the bookshop but they were either sold out or they just didn’t have it. I was a little disappointed but I know I will buy this relatively soon so it’s not a big deal. This one sounds really interesting so I hope I enjoy it.

6. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

My sister loved this book when she read it and is now trying to get me to read it. It is on my TBR Shelf so I will get to it soonish. I’m gathering that this is another Beauty and the Beast retelling.

7. Splintered by A.G. Howard

SplinteredAlyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.

Another book that has been on my Wishlist for a very long time. I almost brought this one the other day but they only had the second and third books in the series. This is an Alice in Wonderland retelling and that’s all I know really.

8. Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West #1 by Gregory Maguire

When Dorothy triumphed over the Wicked Witch of the West in L. Frank Baum’s classic tale, we heard only her side of the story. But what about her arch-nemesis, the mysterious witch? Where did she come from? How did she become so wicked? And what is the true nature of evil?

This isn’t technically a retelling but I’m going to include it anyway because I saw the play on the West End a few (more than a few) years ago and really enjoyed it. When I got home I brought the book but never read it and eventually I think I gave it away to charity. I read the first few chapters and I actually enjoyed them. I don’t think I gave it enough of a chance so I want to give it a second try.

9. The Dwarf and the Twins: Snow White and Rose Red by Katharina Gerlach

The Dwarf and the TwinsOnce upon a time in a world where magic and technology collide with unexpected consequences…
When Martin helps a pregnant woman to flee from the king’s men, he doesn’t know that the twins she bears will change his solitary life forever.
What if the Brother’s Grimm misunderstood the dwarf in the original tale of “Snow White and Rose Red”?

I just found this on Goodreads and it seems to have really good ratings. This actually sounds really good.

10. Ink and Paper by Megan Derr

Enitan is a simple clerk in the stationary shop now owned by his stepfather. He spends his days cleaning and tending the inventory, wishing he could have more of a presence in the shop, or leave to start his own somewhere else. Then a stranger walks into the shop, seeking ink, and Enitan finds himself swept into a world to which he does not belong, and wishing for things even more impossible than a shop of his own.

I think this is a short story that takes a spin on Cinderella. It sounds interesting and I’ve not read many short stories since leaving university. I might give this one a try.

(Everything in the quote boxes is taken from Goodreads, you can click on the title of the books to go see the Goodreads page)

It took me a long time to put this list together and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out, I hope you liked this and I’ll be sure to take a look at your TTT’s when I get a chance,

Until next time,

Tori x

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #5 Fairytale Retellings I’ve Read/Want To Read

  1. Pingback: August 2015 Wrap-Up | Bookish Writings

  2. Wicked ! I do count it as a retelling because it offers another side to a story we already know. I wanted to read it after I saw the musical but there was so many mixed and even some really negative reviews that I just sort of slowly stepped away … Maybe someday.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

