Harry Potter Revisited #2 The Chamber of Secrets

Chamber of Secrets

Harry Potter‘s summer has included the worst birthday ever, doomy warnings from a house-elf called Dobby, and rescue from the Dursleys by his friend Ron Weasley in a magical flying car! Back at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry for his second year, Harry hears strange whispers echo through empty corridors – and then the attacks start. Students are found as though turned to stone … Dobby’s sinister predictions seem to be coming true.

Book

So I spent all day yesterday reading this so I could watch the film that night. I actually managed it too. I have a strange relationship\history with this book, when I first read the series I didn’t think much of it but as I’ve gone back several times to re-read it it has become one of my favourites. This book still holds the innocence of the first book and I think after this point the books become a lot darker.

One of the things that I love about Hermione in this book is that she becomes a lot more confident and relaxed. This is such a huge change from the first book and the first real character development we see in the series, a good example of this is in chapter 11 when they’re planning to get information out of Draco somehow. It was Hermione who suggested the Polyjuice Potion and then goes on to plan a way to get into Snape’s potion stores to get the needed ingredients.

‘I think I’d better do the actual stealing,’ Hermione continued, in a matter-of-fact tone. ‘You two will be expelled if you get in any more trouble, and I’ve got a clean record. So all you need to do is cause enough mayhem to keep Snape busy for five minutes or so.’

Harry Potter and the Chamber of SecretsI think people underestimate just how important this book is sometimes. This is the book in which we see the trust being formed between Harry and Dumbledore. We had a few small scenes in the first book but it seems that Harry is slowly starting to realise that Dumbledore is there to help him. We can see that he doesn’t quite trust him enough in chapter 12 when Dumbledore asks Harry if there is anything that he needs to tell him and Harry responds with a ‘no nothing’. But towards the end of the book Harry comes clean about everything that happened and Dumbledore reassures Harry that he is nothing like Tom Riddle.

We also get a lot of information about Tom Riddle\Voldemort’s past. A lot of which comes up again much much later on in the series. It just drives in the fact that JKR really must have planned this series in so much pin point detail. I love going back and reading the books only to spot some piece of information that I didn’t really think much of before and realise that it is actually something really important.

‘Voldemort put a bit of himself in me?’

^Foreshadowing much?!

Film

This is one of those films that I don’t watch very often. I probably only watch this one when it is on TV or something or I’m re-reading the books. To me this film is a lot like the book in the sense that it grew on me as I got older.

I used to hate this film, mainly because I hate spiders and this film had, what I thought at the time, very realistic spiders. Now that I’ve got older however the spiders don’t bother me as I know that they are fake and they don’t look all that real.

That voice in the walls will always creep me out even though I know what it is, it makes me shiver when I hear it. Parseltongue though is awesome!

Now talking about the cast I adore Jason Isaacs as Lucius Malfoy and not forgetting Kenneth Branagh as Gilderoy Lockhart, the casting choice for these two characters was spot on and I can never see anyone else playing those characters. They are almost exactly how I imagine them in my head especially Kenneth playing Gilderoy.

I don’t have much else to say about the film, I didn’t expect it to be this hard when I started this but I will persevere and will try and get another Harry Potter post up next Wednesday. if you didn’t see my last post where I talk about my thoughts on the first book and movie then you can find that here.

Until then,

Tori x

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter Revisited #2 The Chamber of Secrets

  1. Pingback: BookTubeAThon 2015 TBR | Bookish Writings

  2. Pingback: There won’t be a child in our world who doesn’t know his name | One tough cookie | BookPoisoning

  3. I don’t know what is it about this book, but it’s like the ugly duckling of the HP family. It’s not a bad book, but I think it suffers from being in the middle of two books people usually adore : you have Philosopher’s Stone, it’s the very first, it’s our introduction to Harry Potter and the wizarding world so I think it’s got a special place in everyone’s heart ; and Prisoner Of Azkaban (my personal favourite) which introduces two awesome characters who also end up being some sort of paternal figures for Harry, they’re the last link Harry has to his parents and I think that’s why people love this one so much. So, I think it’s mostly bad luck …

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

