July Wrap Up

This month has been a pretty good month for me, I started this blog and as a result I have had more motivation to read. At the same time though I have managed to read some books for myself which have nothing to do with blog posts. I will try and list these in the order I read them so the first will be the first I read this month.

1.  A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

You can read my review for this book here.

ADSOM UKMost people only know one London; but what if there were several? Kell is one of the last Travelers magicians with a rare ability to travel between parallel Londons. There is Grey London, dirty and crowded and without magic, home to the mad king George III. There is Red London, where life and magic are revered. Then, White London, ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne. But once upon a time, there was Black London…

2. The Martian by Andy Weir

I also reviewed this book which you can find here.

The MartianI’m stranded on Mars.

I have no way to communicate with Earth.

I’m in a Habitat designed to last 31 days.

If the Oxygenator breaks down, I’ll suffocate. If the Water Reclaimer breaks down, I’ll die of thirst. If the Hab breaches, I’ll just kind of explode. If none of those things happen, I’ll eventually run out of food and starve to death.

So yeah. I’m screwed.


3. Ouran High School Host Club Volume 1 by Bisco Hatori 

OHSHC Vol 3One day, Haruhi, a scholarship student at exclusive Ouran High School, breaks an $80,000 vase that belongs to the ‘Host Club’, a mysterious campus group consisting of six super-rich (and gorgeous) guys. To pay back the damages, she is forced to work for the club, and it’s there that she discovers just how wealthy the boys are and how different they are from everybody else.

4. Ouran High School Host Club Volume 2 by Bisco Hatori

5. Ouran High School Host Club Volume 3 by Bisco Hatori

6. Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Another book I reviewed this month.

Simon VsSixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

7. How To Train Your Dragon #1 by Cressida Cowell

Yet another book I reviewed this month.

8. One by Sarah Crossan (DNF*)

OneGrace and Tippi are twins – conjoined twins.

And their lives are about to change.

No longer able to afford homeschooling, they must venture into the world – a world of stares, sneers and cruelty. Will they find more than that at school? Can they find real friends? And what about love?

But what neither Grace or Tippi realises is that a heart-wrenching decision lies ahead. A decision that could tear them apart. One that will change their lives even more than they ever imagined…

9. Ouran High School Host Club Volume 4 by Bisco Hatori

10. Ouran High School Host Club Volume 5 by Bisco Hatori

Chamber of Secrets11. Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone by J.K. Rowling

I recently started a series of blog posts all about going back and revisiting the Harry Potter books and film. This is a weekly series in which I share my thoughts on the books and movies after I have finished watching\reading them. You can find the first post here.

12. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

My Harry Potter Revisited post for this book\movie will be (hopefully) going up on Wednesday so keep an eye out for that.

*Did Not Finish


This has been a good reading month for me and I hope that I can keep the momentum going. I read a total of twelve book this month! Thankfully I liked most of them with the exception of one book which I wasn’t able to finish.

Hopefully I’ll be getting quite a few new books soon and I’ll put up a Birthday Book Haul for you. The next few posts are being scheduled to come out so hopefully they will be published when I want them to be (I’m going to be in Cardiff and won’t have much time to write post so I’ve done them ahead of time),

Until next time,

Tori x

2 thoughts on “July Wrap Up

  1. Pingback: August 2015 Book Haul | Bookish Writings

Leave a Reply

