Harry Potter Revisited #1 The Philosophers Stone

HP 1Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard!

I’ve been re-reading the first Harry Potter book all weekend and after finally finishing it yesterday I decided to try watching the first film again. As I was watching an idea came into my head for a series of blog posts. I’m a little tired of doing lists of books so I am going to shake things up a little and bring you along for the ride as I re-read the Harry Potter books. Each time I finish a book I will watch the corresponding movie and report back with my thoughts. These will not be reviews and they will not be spoiler free so if you’ve never read the book I don’t recommend reading these posts. Without further ado here are my thoughts on the first book and film.

Book

Okay I admit it. I struggled through reading this. I skipped chapters and scenes but I still count it as reading considering I’ve read this book before and I didn’t know I was going to be talking about it in a blog post (this idea only came to me as I was watching the film). What I did read though I enjoyed.

Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone Cover

This is the version I have been reading. I only have up to the fourth book so after that I will be going back to the originals.

Sarcastic Harry is my everything and the friendship between Harry and Ron! Man I love this book. Obviously this is not my favourite book in the series and I endeavour to read more of the other books without skipping as much.

To be perfectly honest I’m a little indifferent to Hermione in this book but you have to give credit where it is due. Hermione is a very strong person, not just Hermione but every Muggle Born going to Hogwarts, they are thrust into a world they know nothing about and are expected to blend in and make friends, when you really think about it it must be extremely overwhelming and scary. Hermione obviously tries hard to make friends but never seems to make any lasting connections that is until she is attacked by a troll and is rescued by her knights in shining armour. Honestly one of the most unique ways to form a friendship I’ve read.

One of the main reasons I love this book is because of how innocent it all is compared to the other books in the series but it makes it a little bitter sweet knowing what is waiting for them further on in the series.

Film

Just thinking about this film makes me cringe. I love the way that they stuck so close to the book but the acting is something to be desired. I realise that they are not even in their teens yet which makes it sweet but at the same time sour. I remember loving this film as I was growing up but as the years have past I find it increasingly difficult to sit through this film without skipping scenes.

I just finished watching it again and I can say with all honesty that I only skipped once towards the end, even though the ending is one of my favourite parts. I think I was able to watch so much of it because I was doing something else at the same time. I was occupying myself with colouring in my Secret Garden Colouring book as I watched\listened.

Harry and Ron continue to be my favourite characters in this film. Their friendship is so clearly showcased in this film and I love it. The looks they send each other to show their shared disbelief at something Hermione is doing are hilarious.

Richard Harris will forever be my favourite Dumbledore and it was nice to go back and see some of my favourite scenes with him in them for example one of the last scenes of the film when he is tasting some Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans.

I still get shivers when I watch the scene where we first see Hogwarts. One of the best Harry Potter film moments for me.


I know this was a rather brief post but I hope you enjoyed it anyway, if anyone feels like reading along with me then please be my guest I would love to talk more about our thoughts as we re-read.

I have just started reading the second book so I should probably get back to it.

Until next time,

Tori x

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter Revisited #1 The Philosophers Stone

  1. Pingback: BookTubeAThon 2015 TBR | Bookish Writings

  2. Pingback: Harry Potter Revisited #2 The Chamber of Secrets | Bookish Writings

  3. Pingback: July Wrap Up | Bookish Writings

  4. One of my favourite scenes from both the book and the movie is Harry picking up his wand at Ollivander’s, the set in the movie is so beautiful. And dusty ! But I totally get the cringe worthy moments, but they were so young !! Later on, you can blame the cringe on the director’s choice. By the way, I nominated you for the Liebster Award ! Check it out here https://bookpoisoning.wordpress.com/2015/07/22/liebster-award/#more-951

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

