Top Ten Tuesday #3 – Celebrating Diversity in Books

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted over at thebrokeandbookish, this week they have us all talking about our top ten diverse books or books that have diverse characters in them. I found quite a few new books I’m interested in as I was looking at books to put in this list.

Deathly Hallows

1. Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

Of course I have to mention this series, this is probably the most diverse book series I’ve ever read. It could be looked at in different ways I suppose, in one way we could look at the cast of characters that JKR includes: British, French, Bulgarian ext. or we could look at the diverse range of magical creatures there are: Werewolves, Centaur, giants and half giants ext.

2. Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

Everything Leads to YouEmi is a film buff and a true romantic, but her real-life relationships are a mess. She has desperately gone back to the same girl too many times to mention. But then a mysterious letter from a silver screen legend leads Emi to Ava. Ava is unlike anyone Emi has ever met. She has a tumultuous, not-so-glamorous past, and lives an unconventional life. She’s enigmatic…. She’s beautiful. And she is about to expand Emi’s understanding of family, acceptance, and true romance.

I’ve not actually read this book but it has been on my wish list for so long it’s untrue. Looking at the description now I don’t know if I’ll ever actually read it.

3. Golden Boy by Abigail Tarttelin

Golden Boy UK CoverMax is special. Max is different. Max is intersex. When an enigmatic childhood friend named Hunter steps out of his past and abuses his trust in the worst possible way, Max is forced to consider the nature of his well-kept secret. Why won’t his parents talk about it? What else are they hiding from Max about his condition and from each other? The deeper Max goes, the more questions emerge about where it all leaves him and what his future holds, especially now that he’s starting to fall head over heels for someone for the first time in his life. Will his friends accept him if he is no longer the Golden Boy? Will anyone ever want him—desire him—once they know? And the biggest one of all, the question he has to look inside himself to answer: Who is Max Walker, really?

Another book I’ve not read but want to. This is a book on my TBR Shelf so I’m hoping to get around to it eventually. I picked this book up because it sounds so intriguing and wholly different to anything I’ve read before.

4. Made You Up by Francessa Zappia

Made You UpMade You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. 

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. 

This is a very recent discovery of mine and it sounds like something I’d like to read. Plus have you seen the cover?!

5. Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything EverythingMy disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla. 

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

I’m still a little unsure about this book, I’ve not read it yet but it sounds very contemporary and I’m not the biggest fan of that genre. On the other hand however this is a premise that I’ve never heard of in a YA book before and that is possibly enough for me to read it.

6. Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

Dumplin'Self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson (dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom) has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . . until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.

Another recent discovery that I’m unsure about. I don’t want to read a typical boy meets girl, girl gets insecure but then realises there is no need ext. I have to give it a little credit however for having a main character who is comfortable in her own skin.

7. The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

The Art of Being NormalDavid Piper has always been an outsider. His parents think he’s gay. The school bully thinks he’s a freak. Only his two best friends know the real truth – David wants to be a girl. 

On the first day at his new school Leo Denton has one goal – to be invisible. Attracting the attention of the most beautiful girl in year eleven is definitely not part of that plan. 

When Leo stands up for David in a fight, an unlikely friendship forms. But things are about to get messy. Because at Eden Park School secrets have a funny habit of not staying secret for long…

I’ve been eyeing this book for quite a while, it looks like quite a short book but it deals with an interesting topic. That this is a YA book stands out to me, it is good that teenagers now have this type of information in their books. I know that when I was little we never had anything like this. It is a relief to know that we are taking a step in the right direction.

8. Magonia by Dahvana Headley

MagoniaAza Ray is drowning in thin air.

Since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it ever harder for her to breathe, to speak—to live.

So when Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn’t think this is a hallucination. She can hear someone on the ship calling her name.

The only other book I have read where the main character has lung problems was The Fault in Our Stars (which I didn’t really like). This sounds interesting combined with the fact that this is a fantasy book, both of these things together make this a book I plan to read and review as soon as I get it.

9. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon VsSixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

Finally a book I’ve actually read! I loved this book and I had to include it in this list as it was the first novel I read that had a main chacter that was LGBTQ+. It was refreshing and a good read and it has instilled a need in me to read more LGBTQ+ books.

10. Ouran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori

OHSHCOne day, Haruhi, a scholarship student at exclusive Ouran High School, breaks an $80,000 vase that belongs to the ‘Host Club’, a mysterious campus group consisting of six super-rich (and gorgeous) guys. To pay back the damages, she is forced to work for the club, and it’s there that she discovers just how wealthy the boys are and how different they are from everybody else.

I have read this manga before and I loved it. As I’m currently re-reading the series I had to mention this. This series includes Haruhi’s transvestite father and his friends as well as Haruhi herself who dresses as a boy for most of the series. If you want to get in to reading Manga but don’t know where to start then this is my recommendation.


And that’s about it. I have to admit that when I started writing this list I was a little worried that I didn’t know what to put on this list but after doing some research I managed to make my TBR list longer and found some really interesting books. I hope you found something on here that you’re interested in and until next time,

Tori x

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #3 – Celebrating Diversity in Books

    • Yea same here I’ve only read three of the books on here and I seriously need to read more diverse books. I found it so difficult to find some books to go on here but then I looked at other peoples TTT’s and found some books I was interested in.

      Like

Leave a Reply

