Book Review: How to Train Your Dragon (#1) by Cressida Cowell

HttyD

Normally when I read a book after watching the movie first I’m always pointing out things that aren’t in the movie. Not in this case. Here I was looking for things that were in the movie rather than not. I was expecting the book to be different from the film but not to such a drastic extent. The only things that they really used in the movies were the names.

That being said, this was a good light read. The story was entertaining, it moved at a reasonably good pace, I never got bored, it was a quick read and I loved the ending. If you’re a fan of the movies don’t expect this to be anything like them.

I doubt that I will continue with this series purely based on the fact that this is a story focusing on how dragons disappeared rather than how they became friends with them. (That’s not a spoiler, Hiccup informs you at the beginning of the book.)

I do recommend this book but at the same time I urge you not to go in thinking that this is going to include all of the characters that you have come to love from the film series. Hiccup is still Hiccup (sans the sarcasm) but Toothless is completely different and as of this book Astrid and the twins don’t exist.

Overall I enjoyed this book and if I had been a child while reading them I think they would probably be favourites but as it is I was left a little disappointed. I think I’ll stick with the films.

I gave this a 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: How to Train Your Dragon (#1) by Cressida Cowell

  1. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag! | Bookish Writings

  2. Pingback: July Wrap Up | Bookish Writings

Leave a Reply

