Book Review: Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon Vs

If you’re looking for a light easy read then you should definitely pick this book up. It is light-hearted and sweet to the point of cavities, and that is in no way a bad thing.

Goodreads synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

Several times I’ve heard people say that this book is adorable and they are not kidding in the slightest. If you can feel a book hangover or a reading slump heading your way then this is the book to pick up to nudge you back in the direction of reading.

I sat down earlier intending to read for about an hour and before I knew it I had finished reading it completely and it was time to have dinner. This book is a prime example of why I don’t read standalones very often, I fell in love with Simon and Blue and I just wanted to carry on reading about them even after the book\story was finished.

The writing is so easy to read, it flows easily and moves at a decent pace. In some chapters the format changes so that we are reading Simon and Blue’s emails to each other and I just want to squeeze those adorable little munchkins and pinch their cheeks! They’re squee worthy! Their interaction with each other is at times funny, sweet, deep and even a little ridiculous. I was constantly trying to figure out who Blue was and I got more and more curious the more we learnt about him. (SLIGHT SPOILER!) When we finally find out who he is I had a little inkling as to who it was before hand but that in no way took away from the moment Simon finds out. Some people might not even see it coming. I think I only got it because I was actively looking for new characters and the slight interactions. Don’t worry though, you can only see it if you squint. (END SLIGHT SPOILER)

Simon is such a relatable character, it is easy to get into his head and really experience what is happening. His friends are well fleshed out and bring their own quirks and issues into the story. (Lets be real, high school isn’t high school without fallings out and friend related drama.)

This books contains jocks, drama nerds, musicians, cute dogs, embarrassing parents and a good dose of friendship and of course romance. If you’re looking for a good engaging romance then this is the book you want. Now excuse me while I go and see if there is any fanfiction.

Until next time,

Tori x

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

  1. Pingback: TTT – Books To Read If You’re in the Mood for a ShortQuick Read | Bookish Writings

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #18 – Best Books I’ve Read in 2015 | Bookish Writings

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #17 – Debut Authors to Further Explore | Bookish Writings

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #11 (FREEBIE) – My Top Ten BooksBook Series | Bookish Writings

  5. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag! | Bookish Writings

  6. Pingback: July Wrap Up | Bookish Writings

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #2 – Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession | Bookish Writings

  8. I’m really glad I decided to read the reviews for this book, because at first, I really thought the book was more angsty than it seemed and it’s not something I’m looking for, at least not with LGBT characters (they deserve pure fluffiness too !), but all those reviews made me push this book up my TBR list. I’m really excited to read it now !

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s funny the same thing happened with me. I read a review by theprettybooks and it convinced me to buy and read it. If you think you’ll like it then you’ll most likely like it. There is little to no angst in this, I didn’t really want angst either but this is really light hearted. Of course there is drama but it is just typical teenage drama. It’s kind of refreshing. I’m glad I was the one to convince you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

