Top Ten Tuesday #1

This is hosted by brokeandbookish.

CressThis week we’re talking about the Top Ten Hyped Books I’ve Never Read

1. Cress (Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

I have read the first two in the series, I loved Cinder but Scarlet was a lot harder to get through and it has put me off reading Cress. I will read it eventually because I want to read Winter and know what happens next I just need to find the time and motivation.

2. The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

I love J.K. Rowling’s writing but when this came out (I brought it the day it was released) and I tried to read it I just got so bored. It was slow and nothing was really happening. I realise that this was written with a different audience in mind but it still disappointed me. One day I’m sure I’ll go back and try again but not any time soon. I’m still going to keep it so that I have it in my J.K.R collection

3. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martian

This is on my TBR pile but when I last tried to read it I had just finished watching the first two seasons of the show and the book is so similar I couldn’t get into. I felt as if I had already read it. I’ll get to it eventually though.

4. Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Yet another book on my TBR pile but I’m really on the fence about this one. I read the first book, Throne of Glass, and wasn’t very impressed. It was just a generic young adult fantasy to me. My sister won’t stop telling me how much better it gets so I’m going give it another chance.

7277985. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

I own all the books (including The Hobbit) but I’ve not yet read them. I’ve read half of The Hobbit while I was on holiday in Russia a few years ago but never finished it so when I am in a huge LotR mood I’ll see about the books. At the moment though I have no real plans to read them any time soon.

6. Clockwork Prince (Infernal Devices #2) by Cassandra Clare

I read the first one just after it came out but I’ve not carried on with the series nor have I re-read Clockwork Angel. I don’t know why. I quite liked it. I’ll get around to it eventually. Probably sooner than I think seeing as I want to read all of them before the TV series comes out. I should really get around to reading all of these.

7. City of Lost Souls (Mortal Instruments #5) by Cassandra Clare

The only reason I haven’t read this is because I wasn’t very happy with the book before it. I think she should have left the series at City of Glass. It was a good ending to the series. But again I will read it eventually.

8. The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1) by Patrick Rothfuss

Every time I see this in the book store I look at the size of it and convince myself that I’ll buy it next time. This is such a big book that it puts me off a little. I do want to read it though.

174539839. Anna and the French Kiss (Anna & the French Kiss #1) by Stephanie Perkins

This doesn’t interest me in the slightest. It sounds as if it is just a book about a girl who (goes to France?) falls in love in a stereotypical holiday\vacation romance. Clearly I don’t know anything about this book nor do I particually want to. I don’t think I’ll ever read this.

10. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Again another book I’ll never read. I’ve heard a lot of good reviews for this but people I trust have said that this was a very immature read, the main character is unlikeable and the story is overused. It doesn’t appeal to me and I doubt it ever will.


Sorry if I offended anyone but these are just my opinions. I found this interestingly hard, I’ll be doing this again next week. What books are on your list? Are any of these on there? I’m interested to know.

Until next time,

Tori x

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #1

  1. Oh, how I struggled with The Casual Vacancy ! I finished it but it was a close call. As for GOT, I agree with Greg. I watched the first two seasons before reading the books and I was so surprised how close to the books the show was (I remember that you can almost watch the book chapter by chapter), but the show took its own path pretty quickly and, between the stuff they changed and the things they didn’t include, I think you’ll like the next books a bit more.

    Like

  2. I’m a big fan of Game of Thrones but I can totally see that- if I hadn’t read it before the show, I might not have either. The first two seasons were very similar. The books really do get amazing as they proceed though (except maybe for book 4, which is just good). Good luck if you do read them!

    And Lord of the Rings would probably read totally different for me as an adult than when I read them as a kid

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s been a while since I read them, I think it was last year so I think enough time has passed for me to try reading them again, I just need to get my butt moving. Oh if only I could read faster!

      Like

Leave a Reply

