Book Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

The MartianI think I have a new favourite book.

No seriously I haven’t enjoyed a book like this in a long time, just ask my family, I’ve been raving about it since I started it two days ago.

I was hooked as soon as I read the first chapter.

I can’t even put it into words how good this book is! Not once throughout the entire book did I get bored, there wasn’t a point that I found dull or slow, there is always something happening with hardly a lull in the action. This is such an intense reading experience.

If you don’t like Sci-Fi and want to try something a little out of you comfort zone or haven’t really read any Sci-Fi before then I completely recommend this book. I’ve only ever read one book before with sci-fi elements and I loved it but this blows that completely out of the water.

Andy Weir does such an amazing job with the main character, Mark Watney, he is witty, sarcastic and just a generally easy going guy. It is so easy to get into his head and experience his situation.

Throughout the book we switch between three different perspectives: Mark Watney (our main man), the crew on the Hermes (his crew mates) and the team at NASA. Normally I don’t particularly like it when this happens in books but in this instance I found myself looking forward to the change in POV. Because there is so much science talk it was a little bit of a relief to get a breather from the constant science, it was fascinating to see the different characters deal with the situation and how differently they were all coping with it.

As I was reading I was constantly on the edge of my seat waiting for something bad to happen and when something did happen I would literally say “Oh S**t!”. It got to the point that I couldn’t help myself from annotating small things in the margins, normally I would cringe at the idea but I found a sort of pleasure in doing it for this book. His sarcasm is so easy to respond to. Several times I found myself laughing out loud.

I seriously can’t recommend this book more. I really wasn’t expecting to like this book so much when I started it but I found myself pleasantly surprised and I will go back and read it again in the future.

This is the best book I’ve read so far this year hands down. Now I just have to wait for the film to come out! (Goodreads link)

Until next time,

Tori x

The Martian UK Cover

I wish I had the American cover pictured above but I’m stuck with this. Ugh…

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Martian by Andy Weir

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #18 – Best Books I’ve Read in 2015 | Bookish Writings

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #17 – Debut Authors to Further Explore | Bookish Writings

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #11 (FREEBIE) – My Top Ten BooksBook Series | Bookish Writings

  4. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag! | Bookish Writings

  5. Pingback: July and Birthday Book Haul | Bookish Writings

  6. Pingback: July Wrap Up | Bookish Writings

Leave a Reply

