My TBR Shelf

I’m sure I’m not the only one with a TBR pile so big it’s daunting. I have a special bookcase next to my bed filled with my TBR books. Here is my list so far.

(If you click on the title of the book it will direct you to the Goodreads page where you can learn more on what it is about.)

Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone CoverHarry Potter (New Covers)

It’s been a long time since I’ve re-read the Harry Potter books so when these new covers came out I just had to get them. I’ve still got my original books of course but I felt the need to get these.

Golden Boy by Abigail Tarttelin

I picked this up last time I was in Cardiff from Waterstones. By lucky coincidence I managed to get there a day after the author had been in signing copies. So my version of the book has been signed.

The Alchemyst by Michael ScottGolden Boy UK Cover

I’ve had this for about a year. The only thing I remember about why I got this was that ALittleBookOwl on Youtube mentioned it in one of her videos way back when I first started watching ‘Booktube’ videos.

Nineteen Eighty Four (1984) by George Orwell

This was another purchace from Cardiff Waterstones. I’ve heard great things from Ariel Bissett on Youtube and it inspired me to buy it.

Shadow Kiss (Vampire Academy #3) by Richelle Mead

One of my friends gave me this for my 20th Birthday last year and I still haven’t read it. I really enjoyed the first two in the series as well as the film.

Blood Promise (Vampire Academy #4) by Richelle Mead

This was another gift from my friend this time for Christmas. I should probably get around to reading them.

City of GlassCity of Glass (The Mortal Instruments #3) by Cassandra Clare

I read the first two books again at the beginning of the year and I still need to get around to re-reading this one too. I need to read them all before the TV series comes out. I’ve never read any of the books beyond this one so I need to catch up.

Glass Houses (The Morganville Vampires #1) by Rachel Caine

I’ve read this several times before but I had the urge to re-read it again so I put it on the shelf.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

A Christmas present from my parents. It’s funny, you get books that you want but then you don’t get around to reading them until months, sometimes years, later.

Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Watson

I don’t know too much about this one. So I’ve got nothing to say except that this was another Christmas present from my parents.

6421982Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1) by George R.R. Martin

I tried reading this after finishing the first two seasons of the TV series but they’re so similar I couldn’t get into it so soon after watching it. I already knew what was happening. I still want to read it though. It has been about a year and a half since I last watched it.

Touch of Power (Avry of Kazan #1) by Maria V. Snyder

I love Maria V. Snyder’s books. I’ve read this one before but I can’t really remember what happens. I have the second book waiting for me as well which I’ve never read so I need to re-read this before I can move on with the series.

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Most everyone knows what Looking for Alaska is. It sounds like a typical John Green book. The only John Green book I’ve read so far is The Fault in Our Stars and it was okay. Yes it made me cry but it just wasn’t my cup of tea really. I’m going to give this a chance but I’m not very hopeful.

Twilight the Graphic Novel Volume 1 by Stephenie Meyer (Art and Adaptation by Young Kim)

The only reason this is on my shelf is because I recently watched the films again and it made me want to read the books. I can’t be bothered to read the books again though so this is the next best thing.

The Cuckoo’s CallingThe Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)

I’m slightly ashamed that I still haven’t read this yet. I’ve had it since it came out. To be fair I have started it, I’m about a quarter in.

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner Series #1) by James Dashner

I’ve seen the movie. I loved it. I saw the four book box set in The Works. I brought it. Have I read it? No.

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

This is one of my favourite films so I want to read the book that it is based off. I just haven’t got around to it yet.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I’ve heard great things about this from Booktube and from my sister.

The Martian by Andy Weir

This is probably going to be the next one I read.

Daughter of the FlamesDaughter of the Flames by Zoë Marriott

I love this book so much. It has been entirely too long since I last read it and it is something that needs to be remedied.

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

I finished reading A Darker Shade of Magic this week, so I decided to buy this off of Amazon along with the next two books listed. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this book and I can’t wait to read it as soon as it gets delivered.

How to Train your Dragon by Cressida Cowell

This was a bit of an indulgent purchase. I love the films and when I found out that they were based on a series of children’s books I had to get my hands on them. I’ve heard that the books are nothing like the films but I’m still curious. If these book inspired such great films I can only assume that the books are great themselves.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

I have been debating with myself whether I should get this book or not. Again I have heard nothing but good things, I don’t know why I’m so on the fence regarding this book. Eventually I watched and read some reviews. I was in just the right mood when I read theprettybooks review that I went and brought it the same day.

Battle Royale by Koushun Takami (A New Translation by Nathan Collins)

18280791I’m a quarter of the way through this. It is a chunk of a book and really quite gory. It’s taking me a while to get through it. No rush though. If you haven’t seen the film I completely recommend you try it.


Well there you have it. All of my TBR Shelf books. If you’re interested in what I have on my main bookshelf then please tell me and I’ll consider doing another post like this for all the books I currently own.

I hope you liked this post just as much as I enjoyed writing it and putting it together. Sorry if some of the images aren’t in the right place, I’m still trying to figure this website out and this is my first try at using images.

Until next time,

Tori x

2 thoughts on “My TBR Shelf

  1. The new HP covers are absolutely gorgeous, it almost makes me feel sad for being stuck with my old Bloomsbury editions. I’m personally waiting on the illustrated edition of Philosopher’s Stone, which I can’t wait to get my hands on ! And great list, there are some really good reads here.

    Like

    • I can’t wait until the new illustrated version comes out it looks amazing from what I’ve seen. October can’t come soon enough! Thanks I keep trying to make the list shorter but I just can’t help myself.

      Like

Leave a Reply

